Search Unity

Black Asset Previews Problem

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by vectorized-runner, Jan 7, 2020.

  1. vectorized-runner

    vectorized-runner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    398
    Hi, I'm using 2019.3.0f3 with URP and all of the asset thumbnails and previews for fbx and prefabs are black. The material previews are fine. I have no idea what is causing this and it has been a while since I've been looking into this issue but it seems like nobody has it. I tried reimporting the whole project, played around with fbx import settings but nothing worked. Screenshot_3.png Screenshot_4.png
     
    Czejkab likes this.
  2. vectorized-runner

    vectorized-runner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    398
    I found the issue, seems like it happens when you don't have Everything selected on the DefaultLayerMask of ForwardRenderer. I reported the bug.
     
  3. Dexter917

    Dexter917

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Same problem here. Fixed selecting everything.
     
  4. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    668
    Thank you! That was it... After setting this I had to select the prefabs and reimport.
     
  5. Refeas

    Refeas

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Posts:
    192
    @velenrendlich Did you get a public issue tracker link from the QA so we can track the issue state? Thanks!
     
    Czejkab likes this.
  6. vectorized-runner

    vectorized-runner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    398
  7. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    668
    I see that it says "won't fix".
     
  8. vectorized-runner

    vectorized-runner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    398
    I was so tired of it at the time I just made a script and changed the Render Pipeline at runtime.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. public class SetRenderPipelineAsset : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    3. public RenderPipelineAsset RenderPipelineAsset;
    4.  
    5. void Start()
    6. {
    7. QualitySettings.renderPipeline = RenderPipelineAsset;
    8. }
    9. }
     
  9. Refeas

    Refeas

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Posts:
    192
  10. vectorized-runner

    vectorized-runner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    398
    I don't know. It didn't say "won't fix" when I first saw the issue, they replied to my bug report that they were aware of it and gave me the link.
     
    Czejkab likes this.
  11. Refeas

    Refeas

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Posts:
    192
    Yeah, that's the public part. You also have access to the fogbugz part, where they might have given you some conclusion.
     
  12. peeka

    peeka

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Posts:
    113
    i run into the same issue, but i can’t find the open default layer everything you guys speaking of, can anyone post a screenshot?

    Thanks
     
  13. vectorized-runner

    vectorized-runner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    398
    Project Settings -> Quality -> Rendering to find your asset, in the asset inspector use the RendererList to find the forward renderer.
     
    TimCoster likes this.
  14. Lupinder

    Lupinder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Posts:
    85
    ı cant dissepear blackness in my prefabs. What can ı do for solve this problem ? When ı make animation, ı cant see animation in preview screen. İt is completely black. I am using universal render pipe line. Thanks for help.
     
  15. Pau-Setup

    Pau-Setup

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Something that it worked for me:

    Select all the prefabs that you see black. Disable the Mesh Renderer from the inspector to all of them, and enable it again. That will force Unitys project file manager to refresh the preview of the prefab mesh.
     
    ketaki2077 and SteamPunkArena like this.
  16. SteamPunkArena

    SteamPunkArena

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Pau, I bow to your awesomeness! This worked!
     
  17. HasithaCJ

    HasithaCJ

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Posts:
    11
    Disable and enable any component will fix this issue
     
  18. BilginSahin

    BilginSahin

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    48
    Same issue with Unity2019.4.5 and URP 7.3.1. Disabling components didnt fix it
     
  19. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    668
    I had the same issue, but 7.4.1 seem to have fixed it for now.
     
  20. ketaki2077

    ketaki2077

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    This worked for me too
     
  21. curiouspers

    curiouspers

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Posts:
    19
    Same issue on Unity 2020.2.1f1 and URP 10.2.2. Disabling components or Reimport or changing DefaultLayerMask does not fix it
     
  22. Medieval_Dreams

    Medieval_Dreams

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Guys, I've noticed disabling LOD Group fixes the problem and enabling it reproduces the issue.