Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Bizarre behaviour with Touch Inputs

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by UlfvonEschlauer, Dec 3, 2014.

1. UlfvonEschlauer

UlfvonEschlauer

Hey everyone!
    I am somewhat new to Unity and I am currently struggling with the implementation of touch screen controls for my camera which already is working fine with mouse inputs.
    To test what is going on, I wrote a very simple script and attached it to my camera:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    4. public class TouchinputTest : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    6.     void Start ()
    7.     {
    8.         if(Input.multiTouchEnabled)
    9.         {
    10.             // this happens in the editor, but not in the build?!
    11.             camera.backgroundColor = Color.magenta;
    12.             Debug.Log("No Touchscreen Device");
    13.         }
    14.     }
    16.     void Update()
    17.     {
    18.         int fingerCount = 0;
    19.         foreach (Touch touch in Input.touches)
    20.         {
    21.             if (touch.phase != TouchPhase.Ended
    22.              && touch.phase != TouchPhase.Canceled)
    23.             {
    24.                 fingerCount++;
    25.             }
    26.         }
    27.         if (fingerCount > 0)
    28.         {
    29.             //this never happens
    30.             camera.backgroundColor = Color.red;
    31.         }
    32.         if (Input.GetMouseButtonDown (0))
    33.         {
    34.             //this works fine
    35.             camera.backgroundColor = Color.green;
    36.         }
    37.         if (Input.GetMouseButtonDown (1))
    38.         {
    39.             //this works fine as well
    40.             camera.backgroundColor = Color.blue;
    41.         }
    42.     }
    43. }