Search Unity

Big time newbie needs advice.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by JamesJB, May 28, 2015.

1. JamesJB

JamesJB

I have zero experience.

Hi I really want to learn how to make a game before I die someday.

I was going to use Gameguru but its not able to make the kind of game I want at the moment.

I was wondering if Unity can make a game like Elite Dangerous,3030 Deathwar and EV Nova. Not sure if Unity could make something like Star Citizen.

The kind of game I would like to make is a space game with Trading,Exploring,Building,Mining,Research and combat. I would love to have a galaxy as large as Elite Dangerous or Similar.

Don't want to do MMO like Elite Dangerous or EvE just single player with maybe multi later on.

So what would I need to learn,what tools would I need for galaxy creation something like procedural.

Just so ya know I want to make something I can sell to earn some cash.

Thank you in advance for the help.

2. Ostwind

Ostwind

Everything is possible but it all depends on your skills. You can see the showcase section on what kind of stuff there has been done.

3. JamesJB

JamesJB

Curious are there any tutorials on how to create a playable universe etc?

I have been looking over the tutorials about other stuff and most of them are for lower versions of Unity. Any tutorials for Unity 5 yet?

4. Ostwind

Ostwind

Playable universe is a massive thing and usually you don't find game specific tutorial unless they are very common and popular. You need to learn basics and other than which you can then adapt to your game. Old tutorials work mainly too but there are small differences.

5. elmar1028

elmar1028

Learn to code first. Start small and grow big. Make a game which only has one mechanic, polish it a bit and publish it for a feedback. Then make a bigger game, then bigger then repeat.
    Takes a lot of time but the outcome is usually positive.

6. KingMatthew

KingMatthew