Search Unity

Big Store with 50k+ objects

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by gfxguru, May 2, 2014.

1. gfxguru

gfxguru

Hi,
    I am presently studying about the feasibility of a 3d store, like a supermarket with 10000s of different producs(objects), totalling 100k of object in the scene. It is deployed as webplayer. I am doubting whether it can be done in an easily downloadable way. Since it is big single room we cannot have much occlusion or such method to cull.Two important things are:
    1. How to load this much data with less waiting time for users.
    2. How can we manage this much object in one scene.

Please do help with your valuable experince and comments.

Thanks in advance

2. Suddoha

Suddoha

I think you can do alot of occlusion culling there if you do have unity pro.
    As for the objects, do they all need to be a single object? You could include several 'products' into one mesh unless you really want to have every product as a single mesh.

3. Graham-Dunnett

Graham-Dunnett

Administrator

When I walk into my local real supermarket I can't see the wine and beer which is over in the far left corner of the store. Actually, I can't see much at all, since the store is arranged into aisles, and I have to walk down the first aisle (which happens to have fruit and veg) before I get to other product areas. I'd assume the same approaches can be used in a virtual store. As the player walks around, start fetching content for the next aisle.

From a technical point of view, you'll want to use asset bundles, and will probably need to purchase a caching license to reduce your cdn costs.

4. techmage

techmage