Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We've updated our Terms of Service. Please read our blog post from Unity CTO and Co-Founder Joachim Ante here
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Assets [Beta][Want testers] Currently creating a free road creator (help is welcome)

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by MCrafterzz, Jun 13, 2018.

  1. MCrafterzz

    MCrafterzz

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    It says that it does allow for commercial use so what do you meen. I changed to Mit, should be good as ra has it. Just don't won't people to simply sell the tool.
     
  2. MCrafterzz

    MCrafterzz

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    It's because it uses the lwrp to be able to use the shadergraph. I don't know if the high render one works but it's possible. Download the lwrp from the package manager and the find convert materials to lwrp materials. It's somewhere in the assets menu at the top. Scroll down a bit and this will explain it: https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/ScriptableRenderPipeline.html
    I didn't want to have to choose one of those but I had as the old pipeline will be deprecated and removed. I may be able to do a hwrp version of the road shader which is the only thing that doesn't work in hdrp.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2018
  3. embeddedt

    embeddedt

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Posts:
    22
    Thanks, I was able to get it working. After struggling for several hours to get a simple intersection to work properly, I think I've pretty much given up on RoadArchitect's code at this point. I think our efforts should be focused on bringing the road props and materials to RoadCreator. Then I (might) be able to make some nice screenshots.

    Is there a way to scale up the whole road system? At the moment it's producing pretty small roads and my Standard Assets car can't drive on them that well.
     
  4. MCrafterzz

    MCrafterzz

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    Haven't tried it. The normal way would to be changing the width/height of roads and intersections. You could scale the road system with the transform components but that may create some miscalculations,you'll have to try!

    I'm currently working on the new intersection system (just started) so if you can transfer some assets that would be great! I think there should be two folders, low resolution with the current ones and high resolution with the new ones
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2018
  5. MCrafterzz

    MCrafterzz

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    Big progress with the new procedural intersections:

    A lot is left to do but it's defently a good start and I therefore wanted to share it with you. You can test it by downloading the proceduralintersections brach from github: https://github.com/MCrafterzz/roadcreator/tree/proceduralintersections but it's not recommended to use it for your projects yet.

    Rounded edges will come which will inprove the visuals of it drasticly.
     
  6. MCrafterzz

    MCrafterzz

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    After not working on this for about a month I started inproving the procedural intersections. Bugs have been fixed but plenty still exist! I will continue work on it during my winter break and of course also sharing progress.
     
    embeddedt, Justice0Juic3 and Mark_01 like this.
  7. Justice0Juic3

    Justice0Juic3

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Posts:
    158
    No worries, this is just about the busiest months at the end of the year. :p I'm already liking it so far
     
    MCrafterzz likes this.
  8. MCrafterzz

    MCrafterzz

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    Thanks for your kind words! Please consider filling in some issues on github :D
     
  9. MCrafterzz

    MCrafterzz

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    Things start to look quite good now. Creating intersections, adding roads, changing positions of roads and removing roads all update the intersection correctly. I would say that it's possible to start using these new intersections now. One thing to keep in mind tho, intersections with only start or end points work. Mixing start and end points in the same intersection still has some way to go. Some pictures:

     
    sharkapps and manpower13 like this.
  10. MCrafterzz

    MCrafterzz

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    The issue with intersection containing both start and end points is now fixed. Another picture for you:
     
  11. Justice0Juic3

    Justice0Juic3

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Posts:
    158
    Sorry I'm filling socks with candy and stuff lol
     
  12. MCrafterzz

    MCrafterzz

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    @Justice0Juic3 A last chrismas suprise from me. You can now curve the intersection connections to get even smoother intersections. It's easiest to explain with a picture:


    Worth noting is that it's customized per intersection so you can get a good result with t-intersections and other unsymmetrical ones.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2018
  13. sharkapps

    sharkapps

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Posts:
    107
    @MCrafterzz It is really great to see the progress on procedural intersections. The curved connections are a key feature. I am excited about playing with this while I'm on break this week!
     
    MCrafterzz likes this.
  14. MCrafterzz

    MCrafterzz

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    Now I'm back working on this. Features that were added today:
    - Added line presets to easly use the road tool to create road lines. This allows you to do stuff like this:

    - Added an option for roads to not generate intersections, use this when creating lines
    - Added an option for prefab lines to have a different start/end prefab which is useful when placing for example guardrails
    - Added option to overlay a material for roads/intersections. This doesn't work perfectly atm and will be worked more on in the future
     
    sharkapps and carking1996 like this.
  15. MCrafterzz

    MCrafterzz

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    One of the last features before release is here. Automatic bridge generation!:

    With loads of customizability. Every part of the bridge mesh can be customized, height, width etc. Multiple pillar prefabs are included. Scale, gap etc can all be customized. This feature excists both for roads and intersections.

    EDIT: Pillar placement for intersections is now correct
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2018
    DrOcto, embeddedt, sharkapps and 3 others like this.
  16. embeddedt

    embeddedt

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Posts:
    22
    @MCrafterzz Having the requirement of resetting curve points when you add or remove a road doesn't seem like a big deal to me
     
    MCrafterzz likes this.
  17. MCrafterzz

    MCrafterzz

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    @embeddedt New system is now in place.
    Also added bridge railings. Place them with a prefab line.
     
    sharkapps and DrOcto like this.
  18. embeddedt

    embeddedt

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Posts:
    22
    It looks more and more like RoadArchitect with every new feature!
     
    DrOcto and MCrafterzz like this.
  19. carking1996

    carking1996

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    2,543
    Looks great
     
    MCrafterzz likes this.