Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

(Beta 20) Weird Cropping Bug?

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by smitchell, Oct 3, 2014.

  1. smitchell

    smitchell

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Posts:
    702
    Hey,

    I'm using 4.6 beta 20, and I think I've found a bug, or I'm being stupid; one of them at least.

    I've attached some images to show what's going on, when I add the sprite to the image component you'll see that it's cropped. But in the project preview window it's fine? I've not done anything except import my images and set them to Sprite + UI, using the default image component settings.







    Any idea why I'm getting this issue?

    Thanks.
     
  2. runevision

    runevision

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    1,897
    No, no idea. Can you file a bug report with repro project and repro steps?
     
  3. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    It would take you literally less than 5 minutes to try something above on your own machine to confirm its a issue or not (Steps are written above)

    One of the Unity technologies members (I think it was Tim) has written in the forums (if you search) the reason the long delays of final release is most of the bug reports are duds/not issues and this is putting pressure on QA to file legit bugs to yourselves.

    I think a confirmation would be nice to eliminate the issues with individual users PCs and machines (if it works on your machine) then its not a Unity bug but maybe something on users machine setup.

    Just my thoughts and opinion as I think these days the standard answer to any problem is FILE a BuG report
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2014
  4. secondbreakfast

    secondbreakfast

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Posts:
    98
    @MrEsquire so your solution to not overload QA is to overload the devs? Ha ha. Coming from a developer myself, if you want to keep your sanity and not waste unity developers time it's best to provide a sample project with precise steps to reproduce. The bug reporting procedure they have is actually quite good since the reporter can upload sample projects and they don't have to waste time creating the GameObject heirarchy in a number of steps. Yes it requires more time for the reporter to create the project, but that saves time for both the unity QA and devs. The amount of bug reports they get and have to go through is probably a lot. Having a developer run through steps in a forum post just so you would know if you should submit the bug will waste more of their time than accessing a sample project you submit with the bug report. I think the point of (Tim)'s post was make sure the bugs you report are actually bugs and not just a side effect of not being informed of how to do what you are trying to do. If you think it's an individual user's PC problem, try it on another PC or project before submitting the bug. I've found a number of things I thought were bugs, but weren't when I created a sample project to reproduce.
     
    Tim-C, MaxEden and JAKJ like this.
  5. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    Ok I agree - very well said, your right no point argueing over this.. i sometimes confuse these forums for what there purpose is for...
     
  6. BigToe

    BigToe

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Had the same issue. Turned off generate mip maps and it was resolved.

     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  7. BinaryX

    BinaryX

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Posts:
    55
    Same here, disabled Generate Mip Maps and it got fixed. Weird tho ...