Search Unity

Best Way to get into the industry

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by zombieguy, Mar 14, 2015.

1. zombieguy

zombieguy

Hello,

Its getting to that time in my life where i must decide where i go next, i am currently looking for universities to go to for game development i know some that would argue that you don't need to go to uni to make games and what not, however its something that i don't want to miss out on and would like the extra experience as well as the grades to help me go further in my future. Despite this i don't know what would be better to study at university,to have a life in game dev... I am a programmer not anything else and don't ever want to be, i don't mind mucking around with art asset creation but never anything serious, so what course or "path" would be best suited to going into game programming. I live in the UK however the same applies else where, should i get a degree in computing science or go for a games degree ( i here controversy over which one is best to go to. ) Also if you live in the UK and would know of any universities of interest please say as any information would be valuable to me even if all you can say is something basic feel free to give your input.

2. Stormbreaker

Stormbreaker

Get a degree in Computer science. Video game degrees are a waste of time, plus it's a volatile industry - computer science is one of the most employable degrees allowing you to easily switch to another career path if it all goes tits up. Currently studying an MEng. in CS at the University of Bristol, aiming to get into video game development upon graduation. Do lots of personal projects to show off your skills and initiative. Make sure you know the relevant maths inside out (vectors, linear algebra, trigonometry etc.) and are well versed in C++, which is typically what game development studios are looking for (i.e. what is an abstract class, inheritance etc.).

Good luck :)

3. Kiwasi

Kiwasi