Search Unity

1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Best way to do a hand drawn animation?

Discussion in '2D' started by Pyrokinesis_, Aug 14, 2019 at 3:13 PM.

1. Pyrokinesis_

Pyrokinesis_

I want to create some hand drawn animations in unity. So instead of just putting a static sprite. The sprite will start with a blank and progressively draw the sprite.
    To achieve this I drew all the images (from blank to full and inbetweens) and used it as the animation.
    Is that the best way to achieve this? Are there other ways tools to accomplish this?

Thanks!

2. Hyblademin

Hyblademin

I think that the simplest way to do this is exactly what you're already doing. Obviously, though, it's tedious.

Beyond that, my first instinct is to look for a GIMP plugin or something that could help generate the frames for your animation. I'm not very experienced with graphics applications, but maybe someone else will know of a plugin or application that does what you're looking for.

There is definitely a shader-based solution for this. There might even already be info about this exact effect out there somewhere, but a little searching didn't turn up anything useful. Maybe I just don't know what to search for. In any case, I have a good idea of how I would approach this if I was set on a smooth, dynamic implementation of the effect you described, so for the sake of discussion I'll ramble a little about that.

If you need to do a lot of these animations and want them to be exceptionally smooth without needing to create a ton of graphical assets, you'll need some considerable, focused development. I'll just say now that I don't picture this being worth the time unless you are very dedicated or have a lot of resources/budget. It should be more than possible, though. Here's what I have in mind: