Search Unity

Best Unity / C# scripting courses

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by yusefkerr, Aug 26, 2019.

1. yusefkerr

yusefkerr

Hello, I've been using unity for around 7 years, mostly creating 3D art for other people and occasionally fudging my way through simple scripting tasks in c#, with heavy copying and pasting from online examples. I've created several playable experiences and generally managed make things work adequately for my needs at the time.

I'm a bit frustrated though, as I still feel like I don't fully understand what's going on half the time, and I wanted to concentrate on developing my c# skills over the next few months to try and become a bit more solid as a scripter/programmer.

Are there any really comprehensive Unity/c# courses that people would recommend? Something that perhaps starts at a low intermediate level but covers a lot of ground?

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

I'm not sure what formal classes there are today, but there's plenty of random stuff on the web. You can learn a lot by doing a lot of different tutorials, but tutorials can be really hit or miss.

The main hurdle you want to get over is identifying what you are learning, so that when you are learning it, you can put it into the correct slot in your brain.

Broadly you will learn these two main things, so it's helpful to think of these steps as you are learning:

1. how to solve a problem to make something happen (describing the problem, identifying the parts, reasoning about it, defining steps, what objects to make, what routines to make)

2. how to write a C# program to actually do those steps (syntax, formatting, etc.).

Most of the online help is going to come in part 2 above, but there are some courses to address part 1. Mostly with part 1 it will be self-developed as you gain familiarity with different game problems.

Part 2 also can be broken down into specific steps, just talking about the context of C# programming in Unity: