Search Unity

Question best practices regarding "cutting" your sprite sheets

Discussion in '2D' started by Sachem1000, Jun 5, 2023.

1. Sachem1000

Sachem1000

Hello

I am a seasoned developer but a rookie in Unity world, so apologies if my question is silly, but I could not find any definite advice on the topic...
    I am working on a tile-based 2D multiplayer game where the players will be moving on a grid similar to HoMM 2 & 3.

My question is, does it make a (big) difference performance-wise to cut bigger objects from my sprite sheets as one big sprite as opposed to having them as multiple 32x32 tiles.
    Please see attached images to better visualise what I mean:

The reason I'm asking is:
    After creating the world, I want to auto-generate a grid and save that on the server, so on each player's move the server will verify if the move is indeed correct (player is not trying to go through the wall etc).
    This grid will be generated based on which tiles are populated in the tilemaps that have Tilemap Collider attached to them. So basically if there is a tile the grid will get a "1" making the tile inaccessible for the player. I hope that makes sense.

Also I like the characters to be able to walk behind the trees etc so having everything cut to 32x32 makes it easy to put bottom of the object on the "collision tilemap" and the rest on another one (without collider), so the character can walk there freely. I know I can edit the collider for a bigger object but this seems like more work to me.

Also are there any pros and cons to the two approaches I did not consider?

Thank you in advance!
    Karol

P/S. I forgot to mention I came across third option, i.e. making a prefab out of my "bigger sprites", and adding them to the scene as Game Object, but I believe this approach is discouraged as not performant...?

Last edited: Jun 5, 2023
  2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker