Search Unity

Best Practices for Triggering Animations for Abilities?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by realfurbz, Jul 15, 2022.

1. realfurbz

realfurbz

I am making an RPG where an input plays a certain animation for whatever ability's key is pressed. What is the best practice/best way to trigger these animations in a fluid manner for reasonably snappy combat?

Right now I have an idle animation and a movement blend tree that is controlled by velocity and xinput. For ability animations I simply have them in the animator with only a transition back to idle (no transitions to the ability), with Next State set as the interruption source. To play the ability, I use animator.Play("animationName") in my script after detecting key input and it works alright, but I am sure there is a better way to do it.

I considered using triggers but I have read some not so great things about them, but I am very new to Unity so that could be outdated/wrong information. The only other thing I can think of is to use bools to trigger the animation, then inside Update make a function that checks my animator.GetCurrentAnimatorStateInfo.IsName() and sets the trigger bool to false when the animation is done.

2. Inxentas

Inxentas

The only thing wrong with triggers is that they are simple. I like to use them for setups like this, for when it doesn't matter in what animation I was (idle, walking) as long as the animation triggers fast. It sounds to me like you are fully willing to sacrifice realism for the sake of gameplay.

I like to use a trigger for an animation that can happen from any other animation by just adding an arrow from the "any state" block to my animation, using a really short and snappy transition time. Just make sure you don't directly tie the animation to the keypress but to some game logic that makes sense. If you want to use bools that's fine too, the snappyness is in the short transition time between animations, and not the code part of the animator per se.