Search Unity

[Best practice questions] Scriptable Objects and Prefabs reference

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Epic_Cube, Jan 3, 2018.

1. Epic_Cube

Epic_Cube

Hi to all,
    I'm relatively new to Scriptable Objects and now I'm starting using them.
    As I understood, the Scriptable Object are perfect data storage solutions similar to table-based DBs.

Anyway, they cannot replace prefabs at all (of course).

Some questions:
    • Is it better to have a DB of Scriptable Objects referencing the prefabs to be instantiated at runtime or a set of prefabs that use the scriptable objects as data to be used?
    • Is there any difference in memory usage? I've looked around and I did not found many info about memory usage of prefabs and scriptable objects

aaaavvvv likes this.
  2. Peter77

Peter77

QA Jesus

Here are a few talks that might help to give a better understanding of ScriptableObject's...

Last edited: Jan 3, 2018
    aaaavvvv and Ryiah like this.
  3. ippdev

ippdev

That is hours of video. What is the skinny on using them condensed from the vids?

4. superpig

superpig

Drink more water! Unity Technologies

That London Unity User Group video is basically the same content as my talk at Unite Europe, btw - just an earlier, less-polished version of it.

lyingturkey, CoCoNutti and Peter77 like this.
  5. elbows

elbows

Memory usage is a key reason for using them.

I wouldnt call the manual page about them brilliant, but its not a bad intro and its short.

https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/class-ScriptableObject.html

Personally I first noticed they existed when using the unity Post-processing stuff, and have more recently been inspired to use them for creating my own presets for one of my systems, with the bonus benefit of them retaining changes made in play mode in the editor.

theANMATOR2b and Epic_Cube like this.
  6. Peter77

Peter77

QA Jesus

Thanks, I edited my post to reflect this info.

superpig likes this.
  7. snacktime

snacktime