Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Best Modelling Apps for Unity

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by elias723, Jun 25, 2006.

1. elias723

elias723

Hey everyone. I've been using Blender with Unity for a few months now, but I've finally saved up enough money to buy a modelling application. I've heard that the ones that are best for working with Unity are Maya and Cinema4D, and I have looked at the "what works on what app" page on the wiki. I have a couple of questions about various applications and their interaction with Unity.

3DS Max - Even though it is decidedly a Windows application, the wiki says it works with Unity in everything. What are the downsides to its use with Unity? Are there hidden things that can't be used with Unity? Is the import harder than other applications because it doesn't run on the same computer as Unity? How good is the support associated with 3DS Max - books, forums, etc? How hard is it to learn? How good are its animation/rigging/character creation capabilities?

Maya Unlimited - Supposedly, everything works in Unity now. What about hair/fluid effects/fur/cloth - the things that it includes apart from Maya Complete? I noticed that all the models for the tutorial/example projects are made with Maya. Is there a reason why Maya was chosen above other programs? How does Maya compare in its ease of use with Blender or other modelling programs for character creation, rigging, animation, etc? Are its polygon manipulation tools about the same as Blender's? I understand it has a paint directly onto a 3D surface capability - how well does this work?