Search Unity

Best method for movement in 2D?

Discussion in '2D' started by Lord_Scio, Sep 14, 2018.

1. Lord_Scio

Lord_Scio

Hey, im new to Unity and would like to make my character move. However, i tried some tutorials and nothing worked at all.. i have no clue what im doing wrong since i dont even get errors or warnings.

Oh, and i dont want platformer movement, more like from top down. Pretty much like the mobile game "Soul Knight" which im inspired from.

2. chemimartinez77

chemimartinez77

First of all, welcome!

Well, could you let us see some of your code?

Do you want your character to be controlled with the keyboard?

Give us some info!

3. Lord_Scio

Lord_Scio

Well, i got a bit mad because in the vid everything worked just fine and i did exactly the same... but it didnt work at all. So i deleted the project.
    Yea, i want to control it with the keyboard, W A S D ^^

This is the Tutorial i where i got the code from, i thought this looks okay so i tried
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WG791jyZ6M&index=2&list=WL&t=0s

is it maybe because i didnt had a spritesheet? i just set the sprite mode on single

Last edited: Sep 14, 2018
  4. MisterSkitz

MisterSkitz

Code (CSharp):
    1.  if(Input.GetKey(KeyCode.A) || Input.GetKey(KeyCode.LeftArrow)) // Left movement
    2.         {
    3.            [code=CSharp]transform.Translate(Pspeed * Input.GetAxis("Horizontal") * Time.deltaTime, 0f, 0f);
    GetComponent<Renderer>().material = lftFace;
    Pshoot.gunPass.SetActive(false);
    Pshoot.gun1Pass.SetActive(true);
    [/code]

Here's and example of how I did it. I had to specify which keypress in order to render materials and toggle gun facing side. However, all you need in 2D is
    Code (CSharp):
    1. transform.Translate(Pspeed * Input.GetAxis("Horizontal") * Time.deltaTime, 0f, 0f);
    Just be sure to create a float variable Pspeed and start off with about 5f. This is your player speed. If you want to be able to access it inside Unity for quick changes: