Search Unity

Best dialogue system for me

Discussion in '2D' started by Jejkobb, Aug 10, 2017.

1. Jejkobb

Jejkobb

Hi,
    I'm a programmer, I've been doing it a long time to make games. I started with actionscript in flash and now I'm trying to learn unity and C#. I'm making a story driven game and the game needs dialogue with choices that lead to different dialogue. By that I mean you'll be talking to one NPC and he'll say something, then you choose what to say back to him. What you choose to say doesn't have any difference in the story. It's mainly like Puzzle Agent where you ask questions to learn more about where you are and where you're going, and a lot of jokes.

Well what I have now is, you can walk around and examine things. When you examine something it sends a string[] to my "dialogue" function which puts text on the screen and sounds and makes the characters mouth move. What I'm missing is dialogue with choices that lead to different answers. This is what my dialogue script looks like in the inspector:

If the sentence starts with '=' my program knows it's the NPC talking, if the sentence starts with '+' it knows it's the player talking. All I want is an asset or a program which I can put in a string[] which sends it off to my function and when my function is done it'll go back and check if there are choices, if there are choices it'll make buttons for me with my font and when the player chooses one it'll send a string[] to my function again and it'll loop until the dialogue is done.

I tried it on my own but nodes are very confusing to me since I haven't done anything like that before. I have never gone to any programming school so I'm not the best programmer either.

English isn't my first language and I don't know if I did a good job explaining, please tell me if there's any more information you need to help me.

2. Hyblademin

Hyblademin