Search Unity

Best approach to allocate audio clips, performance and memory wise

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by calpolican, Dec 3, 2019.

1. calpolican

calpolican

Basically, what I'm wondering is to what extent should I keep the audio clips stored in variables taking memory, and how much should I load at the moment of usage and dispose later. Since audio clips tend to take so much space I've been tempted to Load everything from resources (except from the Background music) at the moment of use, and get rid of it, but some audios do play often. So I'm wondering if there's like a rule of thumb.
    Any tip, regarding sound loading, compression of the clip, best formats, garbage collection, etc, will also welcomed.

2. Yoreki

Yoreki

I'm really not an audio expert, but as a rule of thumb you dont want to unload things that cause the GC to run in your Update() loop. So while dynamically loading the audio clips should be fine to cut down on loading times (if they are small enough to be easily loaded at runtime), discarding them and then having to reload them just doesnt seem like a good idea to me performance wise.
    How much memory would loading all the audio clips (for a given scene) take up? Unless you develop a really huge game, i cant imagine it taking up more than a couple / douzen MB of RAM, in which case i honestly would just load all of it. You can assume that most people have at least 'a few' gigabytes of free ram for your game while playing. I'd rather use more ram than having to deal with the GC causing spikes in the framerate.

Also, from what i read here: https://forum.unity.com/threads/the-ins-and-outs-of-audio-memory-in-unity.97690/
    the process of unloading audio clips itself is quite expensive. Unless i misunderstood something there.

3. calpolican

calpolican