Search Unity

Being Influenced By A Level Design But Not Copying It Exactly

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by QueenEliyahu, Feb 6, 2018.

1. QueenEliyahu

QueenEliyahu

I must confess that I am the OCD type that feels like doing anything is copyright infringement when it clearly isn't. I know that developers get inspiration and influence from other games which makes its way into the final project.

I don't exactly make level art yet, but I practice with smaller elements to get the feel of how larger maps work. I am mainly a hobbyist 3d interior concept designer. I design elements that can be implemented in real life that are highly inspired and influenced by different video game worlds, mainly color palettes and architectural elements. I don't want to copy an element directly because that looks kitschy and trashy on my part. It's good for practice, but not good for a final product. Yet. I constantly feel OCD over what I am doing as if it is wrong when it is clearly different. This mindset has led me pretty much to give up art and design completely because I fear that greedy rich companies are always watching me and want me to have no inspiration from their work whatsoever. It's kind of impossible not to have inspiration from others. I don't want to take things exactly. I like originality. I have done a few concept designs already inspired by Skylanders, Spyro the Dragon, and others. Other than color palette, it really doesn't imitate anything I feel because I try to make things look realistic at the moment. Note I haven't been to game design school yet.

Here is an original image from the LOS games Here is my concept design