Search Unity

Beginnerquestion about Licence with 2 People on a project

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Art3m1s-G3R, Dec 23, 2022.

1. Art3m1s-G3R

Art3m1s-G3R

Hi,

i have an unity-account which i created 2020 when i want to start to develop a game (total beginner!).
    I stoped using it after a while and never finished a game…

Now, my Son is 13 years old a he gets a book „Unity for Kids“ and we want to develop a very basic game together…

So my question is:
    1. Does he need an own account or can he use my account (even when we develop a game at the same time on 2 PCs)?

2. When i look at the asset-store, most assests are for one developer, so i believe everybody must buy his own copy… can i add him to „my project“ so he can use my assests too?

Thanks a lot!

PS: It is important to us that everything is legal, we dont ask for tricks to transfer any assets illegaly to other accounts!

Greetings,
    Art3m1s

2. AngryProgrammer

AngryProgrammer

In short, if you have e-mail, do you share it with your son? I think not. Therefore, if the son has his own private account on Unity, he must have a private license. Legally, he accepts the terms and conditions on his behalf. That's why it's called a personal license, not a per-seat license.

Last edited: Dec 23, 2022
  3. Art3m1s-G3R

Art3m1s-G3R

Thanks for your answer.
    Yes, you are right - i dont share my emails with him :)

Ok, that means he needs his own account and i can not share my assets with him…
    Thats ok, in the beginning we try it with free assets.
    If we need pay-assets, i will buy them twice (for me and for him).

And first i have to check if he is allowed to create an unity-account (because he is 13 years old).

Edit:
    https://unity.com/legal/terms-of-service
    We live in EU, so the minimum age for an unity-account is 16…
    Ok, so the hole question doesnt matter because he is not allowed to have an own unity-account.

Last edited: Dec 23, 2022
  4. AngryProgrammer