Search Unity

[Beginner] Upgrading philosophy between Unity versions

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Michoko, Apr 24, 2019.

1. Michoko

Michoko

Hi,

I did some research, but since my question is a bit generic, I didn't really find an answer to it. I am a total Unity beginner (but a long-time developer). I decided to give Unity a go, and actually wanted to check a neat little game available here: https://cawotte.itch.io/small-islands (the Unity project is here: https://github.com/Cawotte/SmallWorld_WeeklyJam40).

This game was made with Unity 2017.3.0, and I try to open it with Unity 2018.3.3. Since there is only one year between the two Unity versions, I would expect things to go pretty smoothly. But the upgraded project is a mess, with many errors.

I tried to fix some of them, even if it's still very confusing to me as a Unity newbie:
    - The AnimatedTile script was duplicated for some reason, so I removed one occurrence of this script.
    - TextMeshPro seems now to be handled via the package manager, so I removed the code in my hierarchy too.

But after this, the game still doesn't work properly, and it seems some elements have to be reassigned manually to objects (maybe removing some scripts also removed their references to objects). But I can't see what should be reassigned, I just have messages telling me that some scripts can't be found, and I don't know how to determine what was the assignment in the first place.