Search Unity

Beginner tips!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by i1i1i1i1i1i1i1i, Nov 20, 2018.

1. i1i1i1i1i1i1i1i

i1i1i1i1i1i1i1i

Hey guys, I’m a beginner to Unity and looking for some general tips and or advice on where i should start developing my skills.

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

Learn section is a good starting point.
    Fallow examples with practical exercises.
    Keep trying things, to get grip, how stuff work in Unity.

3. Magician_Arcana

Magician_Arcana

And once you learn the basics of Unity and feel confident enough to make your own games, my best advice would be to just start making stuff. Learn from your mistakes and apply that knowledge in your next game. You learn a lot by doing and I feel that a lot of programming/game design best practices don't make sense until you realize you have to use them.

Joining an online game jam is a great excuse to make something. They're low pressure environments that allow you to experiment with game design ideas and contribute to something from the comfort of your own home. The website Itch has a buncha online jams always going on that you can try joining: https://itch.io/jams

Teila likes this.
  4. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER

First, learn to use google.

Then, do every tutorial you can find. Do all of thtem. Not just one's you think will be useful. You only stunt yourself by not learning from everything available.

Then, remake simple classic games, using google search to find answers as you go along, and forums like this to ask questions when you can't find an answer.

Limit your distractions. Spend more time working than thinking, talking, or procrastinating. When in doubt, just do work.

And just don't quit.

That's all there is to it.

5. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

6. ClaudiaTheDev

ClaudiaTheDev

Here are my tips:

1. Before doing your game, work trough the practical unity tutorials!