Search Unity

Beginner in Graphics - On a Quest to do the foliage from the Witness

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by hardcorebadger, Feb 22, 2018.

1. hardcorebadger

hardcorebadger

Hey everyone!

I'm going to preface this with the fact that I have scoured the world wide web in search of answers on this one, and I've actually found some. But the issue is I either can't seem to get them to work correctly, or I don't fully understand them. I'm new to graphics relatively, I have a background in CS, and I've been learning shaders and CG for a couple months now. I'm also not a bad modeler and I'm super familiar with unity on the editor and C# side.

So anyway, I just cannot get this effect to work. First of all, a picture of the witness:

So these look super cool, I've seen this look in a few other games, etc. They give this feel of almost an impressionist painting - it's awesome. So now into what I have heard about how to do this:

1. You gotta correct your normals with something like normal theif in 3dsmax or normal edit in blender
    2. Write a shader that essentially drops the alpha in relation to the view direction (normal dot view dir) to fade out quads with their edges facing the camera
    3. Add to that shader AlphaToMask with 4x MSAA

So here's what I've got:

1. Corrected normals with standard surface shader (This looks kinda good but trust me, this is a perfect angle, the whole seeing the quad edges is a huge issue here, plus some other thing I'm not stoked on)