Search Unity

Beaten path or something new?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Zarconis, Jul 12, 2021.

1. Zarconis

Zarconis

I've been working on RPG's, FPS games etc. for a long time and TBH they've gotten a little bit dull in all regards and I've never been a fan of the whole humanoid characters thing, I know how to do every part it's just so monotonous. Anyway I was thinking about some different options:

- Back in the day I sunk a lot of time into Trek birth of the federation, really enjoyed it although it's an alien concept from design to implementation. I've never done anything like it before, although that could be a good thing. Also don't have any clue about the market, how popular are these sort of games? What's the competition like?

- Next is something like EarthSiege, that was quite an interesting game, not sure about the market for it but I guess it isn't too different from what I already do.

- Third option is just to continue down my original path or I'm open to suggestions. No game in terms of complexity is off the cards so feel free to suggest whatever.

2. dgoyette

dgoyette

It sounds like you should probably just take a little break from whatever your current project is, and have some fun prototyping something else. If it goes well, you could keep going on that project. Or the time away from your main project might help you recharge and enjoy working on it again if you come back to it later.

I do wonder, though, about your questions about "competition" and "market" for these game ideas you're considering pursuing. I understand not wanting to put time into making something that no one will want to play. But, it kind of sounds like you haven't decided whether you want to make games because you enjoy making games, or because you think you're going to make money from it. To me, those two motivations dramatically affect my enjoyment of working in game dev.

Lime_x and angrypenguin like this.
  3. Zarconis

Zarconis