Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Be a level designer or hire a level designer which is the true way

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by mfatihbarut, Dec 21, 2020.

1. mfatihbarut

mfatihbarut

Hi all,
    I am a programmer who has experience enough to finish an indie game (the first time).
    I am working on a mobile tower defense game.
    The thing is I stuck at level design (Graphical background of it).
    Even though I can draw 3D machine like props I have no artistic talent therefore can't design a level.
    Btw 100x100 (comparatively very small) clean and clear low poly design does the job like attached picture.
    I believe I really can finish a successful tower defense game which has original concepts but still paying for a level designer is a little bit bigger risk than I can take. Starting a journey to be "Level designer" without an Artistic talent also makes me worried.
    Therefore any recommendations would be very appreciated.

Attached Files:

EternalAmbiguity likes this.
  2. TonyLi

TonyLi

It's good that you recognize that 3D modeling and level design are different disciplines. Just because someone can create nice 3D models doesn't mean they've developed the skills to arrange them in a way that looks good and is fun to play.

Level design is going to cost you one way or another: you can pay someone else to use the skills that they have spent time developing, or you can invest the time yourself to develop those skills, at the expense of taking time away from other tasks such as programming, testing, marketing, etc.