Search Unity

Batchmode cannot shutdown after successful build

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by nehvaleem, Jan 25, 2021.

  1. nehvaleem

    nehvaleem

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Hi, I am facing a weird issue when building the player from batchmode. Using current unity (Unity 2020.2.2f1 with HDRP 10.2.2)

    Using
    -buildWindows64Player -batchmode -quit
    is resulting in my CI is stuck on:

    Code (csharp):
    1. Batchmode quit successfully invoked - shutting down!
    2. [Performance] WinEditorMain                                                                   :        1 samples, Peak.  2.31 s (1.0x), Avg.  2.31 s, Total. 2.306 s (0.0%)
    3. [Performance] WinEditorMain.ConfigureCrashHandler                                             :        1 samples, Peak.   211 us (1.0x), Avg.   211 us, Total. 211.5 us (0.0%)
    4. [SOME MORE LINES IN BETWEEN]
    5. [Performance] GenerateAssemblyTypeInfos                                                       :        2 samples, Peak.  6.16 s (1.6x), Avg.  3.91 s, Total. 7.824 s (0.0%)
    6. [Performance] Inspector.InitOrRebuild                                                         :       14 samples, Peak.  11.0 ms (1.4x), Avg.  7.80 ms, Total. 109.2 ms (0.0%)
    and it cannot do anything. The build however is being created properly (I think, cause I cannot access it since it is not getting uploaded by the ci, but it is present on the filesystem).

    Is there any workaround? I was using batchmode fine with 2019.3, but on 2020.2 I wasn't able to do any build on my project. Unfortunately, I cannot submit a proper bug report since I cannot attach any of my sources.
     
  2. antoined73

    antoined73

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    Same here on xubuntu and unity version 2019.4.18f1, sometimes it works and shutdown so our scripts can handle the rest, but really often it get stuck there.
     
  3. Kwahusss

    Kwahusss

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Hi. Bump for this. I'm building from Jenkins. Build is 100% successful, but it stucks in that place for a minute or two, then exits succesfully. The problem is present, when building with the Unity 2021.1.5f1. In the Unity 2021.1.2f1 everything work as expected.
     
  4. Kwahusss

    Kwahusss

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Ok guys, seems I found the solution - can you try to put the AssetDatabase.Refresh(); string in the end of your building function and report results?