Search Unity

Basic scripting problem

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by jeremyace, Oct 20, 2005.

1. jeremyace

jeremyace

I am just learning unity scripting, and for some reason I can't get my script to work.

Here it is:

Code (csharp):
    3. var lastRunTime = 0;
    4. var startTime = 0;
    5. var upPower = 90;
    6. var forwardPower = 70;
    7. var jumpDuration = 2;
    10. function FixedUpdate() {
    11.     //check how long since we fired the jump script
    13.     if (lastRunTime == 0){  // if this is the first time we have run this script
    14.         lastRunTime = Time.time;  //set the lastRunTime to this time
    15.         jump();
    16.     }
    17.     else if (Time.time - lastRunTime >= lastRunTime + 5)  {    // first get time passed since last run, see if 5 seconds have passed since last run.
    18.         lastRunTime = Time.time;
    19.         jump();
    20.     }
    22. return;
    23. }
    27. function jump() {
    29.     startTime = Time.time;  //set the start time for the loop below
    31.     while(Time.time - startTime <=  jumpDuration){    // keep looping until we get to jumpDuration (the lengh of time we loop for)
    32.      rigidbody.AddForce (Vector3.up * upPower);     // add vertical force
    33.      rigidbody.AddForce(Vector3.right * forwardPower);        //add right force
    34.     }
    36. return;
    37. }
    What that code does (supposed to do) is make a frog jump every 5 seconds. It actually locks up Unity, and I can't find any endless loop, and it behaves erratically when I comment out the while loop as well.

I also tried update(), start(), and StartCoroutine(), no dice. Using Start() with a yield in the while loop doesnt freeze up, but it doesn't do anything either.

I am sure I am doing some basic thing wrong, so any help will be great :)

Thanks,
    -Jeremy

2. Joachim_Ante

Joachim_Ante

Unity Technologies

3. jeremyace

jeremyace