Search Unity

[Basic design] How to handle a end of game situation ?

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by Kamalen, Jun 7, 2018.

1. Kamalen

Kamalen

Hi,

I am new at this ECS thing. It seems very natural to write many gameplay features and I am starting to use it more widely.

I am doing a small minigame to get into the pattern. From a design perspective, I have trouble to handle the ending of a game. Lets say a simple Whack a mole game with sessions of 3 minutes. During that time, mobs spawns, player kill them to get points or they disappears after 5 seconds. I have those systems :
    - EnemySpawnSystem
    - EnemyLifeSpanSystem
    - EnemyDeathSystem
    - ScoreSystem
    - TimeLeftSystem.

I want the game state to freeze when the time ends in order to display a final score screen. Should I use a sort of "Manager" entity that will store the state of the game (InProgress, Ended) and check its state in every systems ? But in this case, all system would eventually run to check game state instead of just be greyed out.

Is there some way to end the run of all systems and leave the game state as is ? I can't figure a way in the documentations available.

Thanks for any tips !

2. Afonso-Lage

Afonso-Lage

I don't know if is possible to disable all systems in a world, but you can disable any system you want by just calling:
    World.Active.GetOrCreateManager<EnemySpawnSystem>().Enabled = false
    or from whitin a system, you coud just inject it:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public class TargetSystem : ComponentSystem
    2. {
    3.     [Inject] private EnemySpawnSystem m_enemySpawnSystem;
    4.     [Inject] private EnemyLifeSpanSystem m_enemyLifeSpanSystem;
    5.     [Inject] private EnemyDeathSystem m_enemyDeathSystem;
    6.     [Inject] private ScoreSystem m_scoreSystem;
    7.     [Inject] private TimeLeftSystem m_timeLeftSystem;
    9.     protected override void OnUpdate()
    10.     {
    11.         if (GameHasEndedForSomeReason)