Search Unity

Basic depth blend [Solved]

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by D43DB33F, Mar 9, 2018.

1. D43DB33F

D43DB33F

Hi ! I've written a water shader based on top of a Unity Editor generated surface shader. It looks ok, but it lacks shore blending. It also lacks shore foam, but I'll try to make the blending first, then I'll take care of foam later.

I have two problems :
    1) I fail to find how to perform even a basic depth / edge / shore blending / fade (however you call it). I've checked several shaders (Low Poly Water Unity, FXWaterPro, etc) but the shore blending related code is drowned into the middle of many other complex things that I don't currently care about and, as a complete beginner with shaders, I'm having a very hard time telling what I need to extract from these and what I can just ignore.

2) As mentionned above my shader is based on a surface shader, so Unity already handles many things with the "StandardSpecular" thing. Assuming that I find out how to write a separate basic shore blending water shader from scratch, i have no idea how to include it in my existing shader. Can I just add a fragment shader to my existing surface shader ? Aren't the modifications performed by the new shore blending shader going to overwrite or be overwritten by what Unity performs in my surface shader ?

I'm not asking you to code anything for me of course, but if someone could just point me into the right direction it would help a lot. Thanks.

EDIT : This shader (https://gamedev.stackexchange.com/questions/138775/simple-cartoon-water-shader-shoreline) looks like what I'm looking for, but for some reason, it renders all black when I try to use it.

Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
  2. MadeFromPolygons

MadeFromPolygons

is your camera rendering depth texture? otherwise it wont work

3. D43DB33F

D43DB33F

I belive so. I added a component to my camera with the following code :

Code (CSharp):
    1.     void Start()
    2.     {