Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Basic Blender to Unity Meshes not Taking Textures

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by karlhale, May 1, 2012.

1. karlhale

karlhale

I'm very new to blender and relatively new to Unity and am struggling getting any materials to render on my blender models once imported into Unity. That is, I can get a material to render color and what appears to be some coloring from some textures when using a Diffuse shader on a material, but I can't get a clear rendering of the texture image on my models. For example I have a very simple material with a Diffuse shader, no color, and the image I want for my texture that is largely browns and greens and I get rendered on the model I attach the material to a general brownish color but absolutely no distinguishing features of the original graphic

I've gone as simple as opening a default blender file (the basic cube) and simply exporting that (in fbx as well as collada and others) and get the same thing. It's showing the color materials just fine, so I don't believe I have any problem with my normals.

I've tried applying the texture in blender and then exporting (it creates a basic diffuse material in unity with no texture attached) and I've tried applying the texture in unity after importing.

Any ideas or any place someone could point me?

Thanks in advance for the nube question. I've looked through the forum and google and can't find an answer.

KJH

2. niosop2

niosop2

You need to unwrap your object. The stuff you do in the materials panel in blender (namely using generated UV coordinates) doesn't transfer. You need to unwrap the object and assign the texture in the UV panel. When doing stuff in Blender for Unity, ignore the materials panel and do all texture related stuff in the UV editor panel.

3. Adam-Buckner

Adam-Buckner