Search Unity

Basic advice on how to go about creating a turn-based game?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by BusyRobot, Jul 6, 2017.

1. BusyRobot

BusyRobot

I want to make a turn-based strategy game. It's something I've been wanting to do for a few years, and now a certain game I play daily could be shutting down I want to make at least some movement in the direction of creating the game. I've released a few Unity games on mobile over the years, so I have some coding knowledge.

I've been looking into how to create a turn-based game (when I say turn-based I mean online) for over a year, but there doesn't be any straightforward way to making it happen.

So for example there doesn't seem to be any assets that have online turn-based code built in.

From my research it seems there two main options on the online side of things, and that's UNET and photon, with Photon seemingly the better option because it's been around for longer.

But again even in Photon, there doesn't seem to be a lot of guides/help on turn-based stuff, not from the point of view of strategy games, and how to handle users, and the overall setup of how best to go about such a project.

So my question (finally) is have I missed anything online? are there any guides/blog posts or even assets that will help me along the way?

2. TwoTen

TwoTen

Doubt you will find any step guides, rather you will find guides to Networking that you then have to use the knowledge to build your game. Network topics can often be large and complex and therefor the typical youtube tutorial usually doesn't apply to it.

Pick a Networking library from your needs. Then start reading it's documentation. But what it all comes down to is to send over messages and call methods remotely.
    Such as: I just took damage. Let me tell the other clients that.

BusyRobot likes this.
  3. BusyRobot

BusyRobot