Search Unity

Baking with GPU Nvidia

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by PauloPedullo, Aug 9, 2018.

1. PauloPedullo

PauloPedullo

Hi everyone,

I am new to unity and this is my first post. I am building a scene and it is baking with my CPU (i3-4170), it is taking currently 55 hours to finish it, but I have a GTX 1070, how do I use my gpu to bake?

I tried to find an answer but i just finded a plugin GPU Bakery, unity doesnt bake with GPU natively?

2. LaneFox

LaneFox

You cannot natively GPU bake at this time.

3. PauloPedullo

PauloPedullo

thanks for the reply LaneFox.

I think i going to buy the GPU Bakery, because my CPU is too weak for this.

4. kristijonas_unity

kristijonas_unity

Unity Technologies

If your scene takes around 55 hours to finish baking, there must be some issues with your scene setup and lightmap parameters. Even with a GPU lightmapper you would still have to wait a considerable amount of time, as the speed increase is not 100-fold.

Please attach couple of screenshots to this thread showing your lighting settings, so I could give you some more relevant advice.

5. PauloPedullo

PauloPedullo

Sorry for taking so long to respond, i was working on my own to try and solve the problem.

Well i made some progress, i tweaked with the lightmapping settings and now my scene it is baking in 3 to 4 hours.

My problem now it is that after the bake, unity does other things, like visibility, clustering, etc...
    This other things it is taking really long to complete, like 4 hours after it finish the baking time.

I have many questions, first question: all my lights are realtime, so it is really necessary to generate light? if i don´t generaty light, the light inside of my houses arent equal in my prefabs (i am putting images of my scene here in the post, all the images are without generate light)