Search Unity

Baking Light takes forever

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by mattukat2go, Aug 18, 2020.

1. mattukat2go

mattukat2go

Hey,

I'm pretty new in this thing. I just completed my first map and wanted to bake the light (I probably should have done it while doing it) but no it takes forever. It says something like 4 days when I stopped it and it never got more than 1%. Am I doing this wrong?

Thanks for your help!
    Sebastian

Attached Files:

2. AcidArrow

AcidArrow

Use the progressive GPU if you can, and also start with a lightmap resolution of say "1" and see how it goes from there.

1000Nettles likes this.
  3. mattukat2go

mattukat2go

Thank you! I try that! Any other performance Ideas? My map is the standard size and I have a MacBook Pro 13" from 2020 with 16gb, a 2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5 and an Intel Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB.

4. AcidArrow

AcidArrow

Hmm you can't use GPU then. Try even lower Resolution and make sure your Samples values are low.

circynllama likes this.
  5. mattukat2go

mattukat2go

Ok thanks! Is it possible, for final output to render the project on a different machine and import the light maps back into my laptop?

PS: You did Lost Echo? I loved that game!

6. AcidArrow

AcidArrow

It should be possible, yes (although, there were some issues with generate lightmap UVs generating different UVs on a Mac and different on Windows, not sure if that's still the case, but that might cause issues). If you have some versioning to sync between different machines it should "just work", otherwise you need the to manually copy the LightingData.asset and the .exr files.

Glad you enjoyed Lost Echo :)

mattukat2go likes this.
  7. mattukat2go

mattukat2go