Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.1 has arrived! Read about it here
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Scriptable Render Pipeline improvements, Texture Mipmap Streaming, and more! Check out what we have in store for you in the 2018.2 Beta.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. If you couldn't join the live stream, take a peek at what you missed.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Bake keys after animating a cinemachine track

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by jeijei, Jun 7, 2018.

  1. jeijei

    jeijei

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    I have characters that aren't local to a scene, they get instantiated when the scene loads
    however i can still make timeline tracks with those characters and then just assign each character to his track when the timeline starts playing ingame
    my problem is that cinemachine similarly doesn't save what it followed while i was recording the timeline tracks
    say i have a character in the scene, i want the camera to follow and look at him
    now when i start the game, and get to that cutscene, i assign the character to the appropriate tracks
    however for the clips in the cinemachine track, i have no clue what they were following/aiming at, even if i know which character it was, and since the character is new to the scene, cinemachine won't have any references to him saved form when i was recording

    isn't it possible to simply bake all the motions that the camera did to keys and when the game starts just play those instead of recalculating everything?
    i saw https://forum.unity.com/threads/bake-scene-dynamics-into-the-timeline.518158/ but i can't find any option like this in the documentation

    alternatively i'd have to also keep track of everything that cinemachine might be tracking and reassign it when the timeline starts playing
     
  2. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,217
    Seems to me you're going to have to do the bindings manually. You have bindings at 2 levels: CM vcams to Timeline clips, and targets to vcams. Since all your targets are dynamic, you'll have to do those bindings yourself, just like you would do for your in-game cameras.
     
  3. jeijei

    jeijei

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    yeah, that's why i was hoping that the clips could simply be baked to keyframes, would have saved me a lot of work