Search Unity

Avoiding Circular References

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jasrei, Nov 10, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jasrei

jasrei

I've got about 20 years of enterprise development experience (web, windows, etc.), but am pretty new to Unity. When I began building out my app, I attempted to separate the model from the logic, the same way I would with a business app.

In this case it's an RPG type of "game". I created classes for PlayerCharacter and Monster, in addition to many others. I created "Service" classes (PlayerCharacterService, MonsterService, etc.) that would persist these objects to disk and load them as well as perform logic on them. The model classes look something like this:

Code (CSharp):
    2. public class PlayerCharacter
    3. {
    4.     public string Name;
    5.     public int Level;
    6.     public int CurrentHP;
    7. }
    And then a "service" class might have something like this in it:

Code (CSharp):
    2. public class CombatService
    3. {
    4.     public static void PerformAttack(PlayerCharacter char, Monster monster)
    5.     {
    6.         // raise a PlayerAttackingMonsterEvent
    7.     }
    8. }
    I then listen for PlayerAttackingMonsterEvent in my MonsterController, which is a MonoBehaviour attached to the GameObject.

Everything was good until I created the PlayerAttackingMonster event, which I caught in my MonsterController class.

My event has a PlayerCharacter object and a Monster object instantiated in it, but I want the monster to run toward the attacking player. In order to do that, I need the transform of the GameObject.

So I added a field to my PlayerCharacter class:

Code (CSharp):
    2. public class PlayerCharacter
    3. {
    4.     public GameObject GameObject;
    5.     public string Name;
    6.     public int Level;
    7.     public int CurrentHP;
    8. }