Search Unity

AutoSync PlayerPrefs to iCloud

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Jodon, Sep 20, 2013.

1. Jodon

Jodon

Hello Folks!

This is my thread announcing my first plug-in: iCloud PlayerPrefs AutoSync. This plug-in will sync your PlayerPrefs automatically to iCloud without ANY user coding whatsoever.

When I was developing my game, Fling Theory, I took a look at the other plug-ins available. All other plug-ins wrap PlayerPrefs calls, forcing you to change your codebase. Since my PlayerPrefs was already wrapped, this was going to cause some major pains. After some research, optimizations, and nice packaging, I finally have a solution that will allow you to store your PlayerPrefs in iCloud without ANY programming.

I am an indie developer, so I'm pricing it with indie-friendly terms. The asset will be $10/seat up to a maximum of $40/studio. You're a single indie developer? $10 gets you iCloud support. Are you a studio of 10 or even 100 people? $40 is your total cost, saving you hours of work.

Better yet, FULL SOURCE CODE IS INCLUDED. It's fully commented, easy to understand, and is already shipped in Fling Theory.

Here is the header file which serves as documentation:

Code (csharp):
    1. /**
    2.  * PlayerPrefsAutoSync v1.0.  Copyright: Coding Jar Studios Inc. 2013.
    3.  *
    4.  * This file ensures that Unity's PlayerPrefs gets sent up to iCloud, and properly syncs from
    5.  * iCloud back to Unity's PlayerPrefs.
    6.  *
    7.  * Unity Instructions:
    8.  *   There are NO code changes needed to ensure this works.  Just export your typical iOS build and everything should just work.
    9.  * You will receive log statements in the debugger output to ensure everything is working.
    10.  *
    11.  * Xcode Instructions:
    12.  *   You must ensure to have your iCloud entitlements set-up properly.