Search Unity

Automatic character sheet maker

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by thedesertcraft0, Sep 4, 2019.

1. thedesertcraft0

thedesertcraft0

hello everyone, i am new to programming as a whole and wanted to make an automatic d&d character sheet generator for my computer science class. i would eventually like to have a mobile app for it but id like to start with just a basic program. could anyone point me in the right direction? thanks in advance!

DBarlok likes this.
  2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Can you mention what part of this project you're having difficulty with?

Otherwise I'd assume that the project will be mostly just UI based, with your own custom scripts hooked in. I'd suggest finding a basic UI tutorial. The current UI system was added in Unity 4.6, so any tutorial from the last few years should be fine for UI.

DBarlok and JoeStrout like this.
  3. thedesertcraft0

thedesertcraft0

well, im looking to make a program that could take information from a specific source (say, a downloaded version of the Player's handbook for D&D) write information, roll dice, things like that.

i think the order would go like this:
    program looks and opens character sheet
    it takes a race and class
    it rolls for stats (using the standard rule of rolling 4 6-sided dice and subtracting the lowest number, repeat 6 times)
    depending on the race and class, it gives priority to the most useful stats for the build
    it fills in the character sheet with the information it has
    it looks up (if the class can have them) spells and cantrips and forms a list (optional as to not make a faulty character)
    fills in additional stuff (AC, max and current hit points, hit dice, initiative, proficiency bonus and general proficiencies in tools/weapons and whatnot as well as speed)
    adds equipment that you'd get from your race/class (with the exception of equipment you'd have to choose from two options such as having an explorer's pack or a dungeoneer's pack