Search Unity

Auto Completion in MonoDevelop under Linux Mint

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by MarkDonnovin, Jan 23, 2020.

  1. MarkDonnovin

    MarkDonnovin

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    I'm trying to learn how to use Linux and installed Linux Mint as second OS with Dual Boot.
    So far everything works good except one issue i can't fix:

    I'm using MonoDevelop to write my C# scripts and the auto completion isn't working with Unity related things like "Vector3".
    Things like "float" that come with the net framework work great.

    Someone got the same problem or knows a way to handle this issue?
    I also tried VisualCode (since we don't have Visual Studio on Linux) but i got the same issue there.
     
  2. Alexis-Dev

    Alexis-Dev

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Posts:
    121
    I'm not on my Linux actually, but did you install the Mono package?
     
  3. MarkDonnovin

    MarkDonnovin

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    I found a solution:

    In Unity you have to select "monodevelop" in the directory "usr/bin/" and not a shortcut or any other one. Then it will load everything correctly and Intellisense (auto completion) works also for Unity related things like "Vector3".
     
  4. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    I'm trying to add Monodevelop to Unity; I've added it in the preferences the way you say but I still don't have intellisense. Any idea what I should do to make it work (since I cannot have VS Code to work either)?

    Thank you.
     
  5. Alexis-Dev

    Alexis-Dev

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Posts:
    121
    Hi,

    Did you install the package: mono-devel (or mono-complete)?

    I had to install it on me Manjaro to have intellisense (in VS Code).

    Alexis.
     
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    I have both installed. I'm on Linux Mint 19.3.

    The only thing I haven't done is deinstalling Unity and reinstalling it after Monodevelop had been installed. VS Code is worse that's why I want to switch to Monodevelop.
     
  7. Alexis-Dev

    Alexis-Dev

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Posts:
    121
    I will check on me Manjaro later (by the way I need to test Rider on it). ;)
     
  8. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    I'd like to know what mono packages you installed so that intellisense works for you, if you don't mind listing them here. Thank you. :)
     
  9. Alexis-Dev

    Alexis-Dev

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Posts:
    121
    Ok,
    I had install:
    - Mono
    - dotnet-runtime
    - dotnet-sdk

    Also I install Unity with Unity-Hub.

    Work with: Rider, VS code (and I install monodev to test).