Search Unity

Austin demo very slow in mac

Discussion in 'Data Oriented Technology Stack' started by dreamerflyer, Mar 21, 2018.

  1. dreamerflyer

    dreamerflyer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    904
    hi all,how to make smooth ? slow.jpg slow2.jpg
     
  2. X301

    X301

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    108
    Do you have pictures showing project running on Windows on the mac(Boot camp)?
     
  3. X301

    X301

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    108
    Edit: Do you have a graphics card. I ran it on my Surface pro 4 and got around 5fps which was better than I expected.
     
  4. dreamerflyer

    dreamerflyer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    904
    gpu:
    Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB


    I had made < 2000 entity,not 10000+ slow2.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2018
  5. X301

    X301

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    108
    Your using integrated graphics from intel which is not made to run games(I'm doing the same). I'm running around 5fps at 2000 entities which again is understandable since I'm not running with a dedicated gpu. Your also getting worse results because Macs run games worse than Windows.
     
  6. xoofx

    xoofx

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Posts:
    206
    Also, make sure that you have the option disabled in "Edit/Preferences/External Tools/Editor Attaching".

    By default the Unity Editor is running with the capability to attach a debugger for C# but it is basically slowing down the whole editor by a factor of 5x to 10x
     
  7. dreamerflyer

    dreamerflyer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    904
    restart unity,not increase .maybe some setting not correct?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    4,721
    Based on the screenshot it appears you are heavily GPU bound. When we showed the demo we showed it with a pretty beefy GPU, mainly because it was all about CPU workload not GPU.

    But the point is noted and we'll work a bit on making sure the scene is running better on old school hardware. I think we can agree the goal of the demo should be to show scalability. So maybe you can't expect 100k units on screen but 5k - 10k units should run even on intel integrated graphics cards.

    We will continue to improve the demo. This is just the starting point, we wanted to get it out there so you can learn from it. So please bear with us as we get into a mode where we continously improve these demos. Also do feel free to contribute changes to the demos back. We'd be happy to work with community on it.
     
    laurentlavigne and dreamerflyer like this.
  9. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,037
    When you guys improve the demo, could you label the GOs that run the systems? I gave up figuring out system entry points.
     
  10. HeadZerg

    HeadZerg

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Disabling some effects in PostProcessing\Profiles\PostProc_Default could help.
     
  11. optimise

    optimise

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    456
    @Joachim_Ante Awesome. I really hope Unity can support super low end spec like the massive scale game I play. Last time, I use laptop Intel® Core™ i7-3610QM Processor with Intel® HD Graphics 4000 only it's still playable with quite nice FPS in lowest graphics setting.


     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2018
    dreamerflyer likes this.
  12. dreamerflyer

    dreamerflyer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    904
    OMG,in ios mode, this example freezon,it seems render not correct....why?can fix it? ios.jpg