Search Unity

Aura 2 - Volumetric Lighting & Fog

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by raphick, Feb 27, 2019.

  1. nsxdavid

    nsxdavid

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Posts:
    375
    @TheFoundation does smell like a bug, doesn't it? Did changing that fix the issue for 2 cascade?
     
  2. Shadowing

    Shadowing

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Posts:
    1,430
    anyone else noticed a huge issue with reprojection factor?
    It causes a huge ghosting issue set to .95 and lower settings it creates a double vision. Which makes it look like game lag.
    Not sure what this is suppose to be doing though anyways. My game looks fine with it off.
     
  3. TheFoundation

    TheFoundation

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Yes and yes.
     
  4. Horus_Sungod42

    Horus_Sungod42

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Posts:
    75
    Hi guys, question about Aura 2:

    Are cookies supposed to work on volumetric point/spot lights? I'm able to get volumetric god rays from a directional light, but not from a spot.

    Even trying with new project, I was unable to get cookies to work with aura, for spots lights.

    The cookie itself should be correct, being clamped, with an alpha.

    Thanks :)
     
  5. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    302
    Hi! I am not really familliar with cloud builds. Can you give more details or try to narrow down the triggering factor?

    There is no internal custom scale of any kind in Aura. Everything is based on Unity's units. However, the system is made to be more "precise" when closer to the camera. How far/big was that sphere?

    The grid resolution do not seem the same basically, have you checked this?

    Please do not post code!
    This is triggerred by an recently introduced bug in Unity (2018.2 I think), where the amount of cascades is wrongfully initialized. I filed a bug report but no news ever since.

    Reprojection factor "smoother" the volumetric lighting over time (that's where the ghosting is from). If your game looks ok without, you don't need it =)

    The cookies work correctly on all types of light.
    Try with TorchBeam located in Aura 2/Examples/Sources =)
     
  6. Krealit-OOO

    Krealit-OOO

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Hey man, how to disable noise mask at viewport preview? Actually I need to get same pictures at viewport in edit and play mode, is it possible?
     
  7. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    302
    You can tweak your SceneView parameters in the Aura edition settings
     
  8. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    302
    Made with Aura2.png

    You want to showoff your awesome game, your beautiful diorama or your mind-blowing experience and you used Aura2 in it?

    Reach me through DM, tweet, email, discord, pigeon, whatever.
    Millions of people will see this #MadeWithAura video.

    (no joke, more details soon!)
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2019
  9. Cyrusc

    Cyrusc

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Posts:
    14
    Has anyone been able to get single pass XR rendering to work? I am using the OVRCameraRig with rendering set to deferred. All the shadows render as if on a plane in front of the camera. Works fine on multipass.

     
  10. generalknow

    generalknow

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Posts:
    50
    Does this count? I want to be in the video.
     
  11. PhoenixAdvanced

    PhoenixAdvanced

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    186
    Hi,

    I've been using Aura2, and it's been working great in the editor, but I just recently tried it in a build, and I get many of these errors spamming the console:


    Code (CSharp):
    1. Graphics.CopyTexture called with null source texture
    2. UnityEngine.Graphics:CopyTexture_Region(Texture, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Texture, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32)
    3. UnityEngine.Graphics:CopyTexture(Texture, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Texture, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Runtime\Export\Graphics\Graphics.cs:267)
    4. Aura2API.Texture2DArrayComposer:Generate() (at Assets\Aura 2\System\Code\Classes\Texture2DArrayComposer.cs:221)
    5. Aura2API.LightsCommonDataManager:GenerateLightsMaps() (at Assets\Aura 2\System\Code\Classes\LightsCommonDataManager.cs:736)
    6. Aura2API.LightsCommonDataManager:Update() (at Assets\Aura 2\System\Code\Classes\LightsCommonDataManager.cs:394)
    7. Aura2API.CommonDataManager:UpdateData() (at Assets\Aura 2\System\Code\Classes\CommonDataManager.cs:105)
    8. Aura2API.AuraCamera:OnRenderImage(RenderTexture, RenderTexture) (at Assets\Aura 2\System\Code\Classes\AuraCamera.cs:202)
    9. UnityEditor.EditorGUIUtility:RenderGameViewCamerasInternal_Injected(RenderTexture, Int32, Rect&, Vector2&, Boolean, Boolean)
    10. UnityEditor.EditorGUIUtility:RenderGameViewCamerasInternal(RenderTexture, Int32, Rect, Vector2, Boolean, Boolean)
    11. UnityEditor.GameView:OnGUI() (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\GameView\GameView.cs:909)
    12. System.Reflection.MonoMethod:InternalInvoke(Object, Object[], Exception&)
    13. System.Reflection.MonoMethod:Invoke(Object, BindingFlags, Binder, Object[], CultureInfo)
    14. System.Reflection.MethodBase:Invoke(Object, Object[])
    15. UnityEditor.HostView:Invoke(String, Object) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\HostView.cs:345)
    16. UnityEditor.HostView:Invoke(String) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\HostView.cs:339)
    17. UnityEditor.HostView:InvokeOnGUI(Rect, Rect) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\HostView.cs:307)
    18. UnityEditor.DockArea:DrawView(Rect, Rect, Boolean, Boolean) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\GUI\DockArea.cs:373)
    19. UnityEditor.DockArea:OldOnGUI() (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\GUI\DockArea.cs:340)
    20. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer:DoOnGUI(Event, Matrix4x4, Rect, Boolean, Rect) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\UIElements\IMGUIContainer.cs:278)
    21. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer:HandleIMGUIEvent(Event, Matrix4x4, Rect) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\UIElements\IMGUIContainer.cs:481)
    22. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer:HandleIMGUIEvent() (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\UIElements\IMGUIContainer.cs:455)
    23. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIR.ImmediateRenderer:Draw(DrawChainState) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\UIElements\Renderer\UIRenderer\UIRenderers.cs:447)
    24. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIR.UIRenderDevice:ContinueChain(RendererBase, DrawChainState, Boolean) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\UIElements\Renderer\UIRenderer\UIRenderDevice.cs:841)
    25. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIR.UIRenderDevice:DrawChain(RendererBase, Rect, Matrix4x4, Texture) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\UIElements\Renderer\UIRenderer\UIRenderDevice.cs:824)
    26. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIRRepaintUpdater:DrawChain(Rect, Matrix4x4) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\UIElements\Renderer\UIRRepaintUpdater.cs:218)
    27. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIRRepaintUpdater:Update() (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\UIElements\Renderer\UIRRepaintUpdater.cs:190)
    28. UnityEngine.UIElements.VisualTreeUpdater:UpdateVisualTree() (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\UIElements\VisualTreeUpdater.cs:70)
    29. UnityEngine.UIElements.Panel:Repaint(Event) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\UIElements\Panel.cs:589)
    30. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIElementsUtility:DoDispatch(BaseVisualElementPanel) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\UIElements\UIElementsUtility.cs:240)
    31. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIElementsUtility:ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\UIElements\UIElementsUtility.cs:78)
    32. UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Modules\IMGUI\GUIUtility.cs:179)
    33.  
    34. [C:\buildslave\unity\build\Runtime/Graphics/CopyTexture.cpp line 40]
    35. (Filename: Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/Texture2DArrayComposer.cs Line: 221)
    It's definitely aura 2 related, and when I build a scene that doesn't use Aura 2 components, it builds and runs fine. There are no errors in the console when building, the errors only occur when running the build.
    I am using Unity 2019.1, on Windows 10 (target platform) and x86 architecture (development build).

    Could anyone provide a starting point to figure this out?

    I'm guessing it's setting or something that I have left null somewhere, but the error doesn't seem to give any information as to where the source of the issue is.
     
  12. tranceemerson

    tranceemerson

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    I'm having some trouble getting this to work. well.. I'ts working but I can't seem to get the godrays going.
     
  13. PhoenixAdvanced

    PhoenixAdvanced

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    186
    The only other error that I have when building my project is this one:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Pixel sizes of texture "nebulalight : Shadow Map Render Texture (UnityEngine.RenderTexture)" (256x256) does not match the required size of 512pixels for width and 512pixels for height.
    2. UnityEngine.Debug:LogError(Object, Object)
    3. Aura2API.Texture2DArrayComposer:AddTexture(Texture) (at Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/Texture2DArrayComposer.cs:154)
    4. Aura2API.LightsCommonDataManager:RegisterLight(AuraLight) (at Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/LightsCommonDataManager.cs:420)
    5. Aura2API.AuraLight:Initialize() (at Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/AuraLight.cs:478)
    6. Aura2API.AuraLight:OnEnable() (at Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/AuraLight.cs:285)
    7. UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
    8.  
    Which is also related to Aura2 related.

    How would I fix this issue? It seems that I need to change the size of a render texture?
     
  14. sunseeker1988

    sunseeker1988

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Posts:
    440
    What do you mean "re projection factor" Where is that adjustment?
     
  15. Hexaedre

    Hexaedre

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Posts:
    110
    How can I remove Aura 2 from my project ?

    When I delete the Aura 2 folder, unity keep spamming errors. Here is the first one :

    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    Aura2API.SceneViewToolbox.ComputeRects () (at Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Editor/Editors/SceneViewToolbox.cs:574)
    Aura2API.SceneViewToolbox.OnSceneViewGUI (UnityEditor.SceneView sceneView) (at Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Editor/Editors/SceneViewToolbox.cs:425)
    UnityEditor.SceneView.CallOnSceneGUI () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/SceneView/SceneView.cs:3293)
    UnityEditor.SceneView.HandleSelectionAndOnSceneGUI () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/SceneView/SceneView.cs:2522)
    UnityEditor.SceneView.OnGUI () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/SceneView/SceneView.cs:2383)
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Reflection.BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at <1f0c1ef1ad524c38bbc5536809c46b48>:0)
    Rethrow as TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Reflection.BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at <1f0c1ef1ad524c38bbc5536809c46b48>:0)
    System.Reflection.MethodBase.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Object[] parameters) (at <1f0c1ef1ad524c38bbc5536809c46b48>:0)
    UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName, System.Object obj) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:345)
    UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:339)
    UnityEditor.HostView.InvokeOnGUI (UnityEngine.Rect onGUIPosition, UnityEngine.Rect viewRect) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:315)
    UnityEditor.DockArea.DrawView (UnityEngine.Rect viewRect, UnityEngine.Rect dockAreaRect, System.Boolean floatingWindow, System.Boolean isBottomTab) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/GUI/DockArea.cs:373)
    UnityEditor.DockArea.OldOnGUI () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/GUI/DockArea.cs:340)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.DoOnGUI (UnityEngine.Event evt, UnityEngine.Matrix4x4 parentTransform, UnityEngine.Rect clippingRect, System.Boolean isComputingLayout, UnityEngine.Rect layoutSize) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Modules/UIElements/IMGUIContainer.cs:278)
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
     
  16. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    302
    What's your Unity version?

    What project do you want to be shown? I can't see anything

    Any more info? How many cascades?

    In the Aura Quality Settings in the Aura Camera component

    It should disappear after restart
     
  17. Hexaedre

    Hexaedre

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Posts:
    110
    Nope. Still 999+ errors. Even if I deleted the Aura 2 folder, Aura 2 is still in the window dropdown menu and in the right clic menu.

    EDIT :
    Found it. I had to delete the aura reference in the Project settings, Scripting Define Symbols.
     
    atomicjoe and raphick like this.
  18. PhoenixAdvanced

    PhoenixAdvanced

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    186
    I managed to fix both of my Aura 2 issues by modifying the "ShadowMapSize" function in DirectionalLightsManager.cs to this:

    <Edited>

    Basically just forcing a 512*12 size.

    I had the cascades set to 4 in the unity editor though, so it should have been creating a correct shadowmap anyway? I don't know why it wasn't.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2019
  19. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    302
    It's a bug in Unity, I'll send a report again.
    Please stop including code from Aura 2 (please edit your post)
     
  20. Cyrusc

    Cyrusc

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Posts:
    14
    2019.2.1f1
     
  21. RPowers

    RPowers

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Posts:
    102
    Hi. Just wanted to let you know of a bug I'm finding. The Enable Occlusion Culling is throwing an error when turned on and when I run with VR Single Pass Instanced. In Single Pass it all works beautifully with no errors. I realize the occlusion culling is an experimental feature so bugs are expected, but it would be nice to get this working in Single Passed Instanced. I'm using Unity 2018.4.7f1. Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Indemonai_Games

    Indemonai_Games

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Hi,

    First of all, great asset! It was the first time we bought an asset for actual production use. I have a question, with the release of URP (Universal Render Pipeline) do you intend to support it? I tested adding Aura 2 to a project running with URP and as of now, it does not work (as I expected).

    Cheers!
     
    seboverflow likes this.
  23. amynox

    amynox

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Posts:
    87
    Hi,

    I'm using Unity 2019.2.3f1.

    When i tried to Build my project with Aura 2 i'm getting this error :

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Pixel sizes of texture "Directional Light : Shadow Map Render Texture (UnityEngine.RenderTexture)" (256x256) does not match the required size of 512pixels for width and 512pixels for height.
    2. UnityEngine.Debug:LogError(Object, Object)
    3. Aura2API.Texture2DArrayComposer:AddTexture(Texture) (at Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/Texture2DArrayComposer.cs:154)
    4. Aura2API.LightsCommonDataManager:RegisterLight(AuraLight) (at Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/LightsCommonDataManager.cs:420)
    5. Aura2API.AuraLight:Initialize() (at Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/AuraLight.cs:478)
    6. Aura2API.AuraLight:OnEnable() (at Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/AuraLight.cs:285)
    7. UnityEditor.BuildPlayerWindow:BuildPlayerAndRun()
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2019
  24. PhoenixAdvanced

    PhoenixAdvanced

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    186
    Thanks a lot. Post edited.
     
  25. PhoenixAdvanced

    PhoenixAdvanced

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    186
    I have another brief question about Aura 2.

    Basically, I want to strengthen the "God Rays" effect in my project, but I don't want to wash out the scene.

    This is a screenshot of my scene:
    https://imgur.com/yHJOmRE

    The god rays are there, but very subtle. I can increase the light strength, and this results in much stronger God Rays:

    https://imgur.com/BNakmkT

    But, like I said, this washes out the scene, which I don't want.

    Is there a way to only stengthen the light rays, and not affect the rest of the scene? I have tried Aura Volumes, etc, but this doesn't seem to produce the desired effect.

    Thanks!
     
  26. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    302
    Thanks for letting know

    How many cascades?

    I think I already answered you on the discord (?).
    Solution is having a very very small density and very very high aura lights strength
     
  27. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    302

    Aura 2 - Volumetric Lighting & Fog
    is empowering hundreds of projects now

    Let's highlight a few of them with the first #MadeWithAura video

     
    ledbetterman and Raul_MadGoat like this.
  28. hongtm

    hongtm

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Posts:
    20
    do you have a plan to support Single-pass?
     
  29. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    302
    Aura 2 already supports single pass stereo rendering
     
  30. PhoenixAdvanced

    PhoenixAdvanced

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    186
    I don't think so, I've never used the discord, but thank you, I'll try that solution.
     
  31. hongtm

    hongtm

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Posts:
    20
    Does Aura 2 support single pass in VR game?
     
  32. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    302
    yes
     
  33. hongtm

    hongtm

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Posts:
    20
    It's not support single pass in VR game, I just tested with occulus rift S.
     

    Attached Files:

  34. daebianca

    daebianca

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hey guys,

    Any news about support for LWRP?
     
  35. atomicjoe

    atomicjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    674
  36. DerDicke

    DerDicke

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Posts:
    184
    Hi there. I bought Aura 2 in Humble Bundle and expected to get a volumetric Light solution. But Aura seems to be a complete lighting solution, taking my own lighting hostage. E.g. My Camera(s) are on my Character Prefab and lighting and post-processing will change in every scene.

    So what I have is:
    - finished lighting and post-processing
    What need is:
    - a volumetric light that I can place into a scene that does not change global lighting

    Is this possible?
     
  37. ManiaCCC

    ManiaCCC

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Posts:
    41
    You can exclude global lightning from aura so the only thing what will affect your scene right out of the box is density (it will make it darker).

    But to be fair, aura is meant to be this lightning solution. I understand reworking some part of the lightning is not ideal but if you understand, how aura simulates real life conditions, you can very quickly create consistent lightning across your whole game where everything will make sense.

    Anyway, if you want just have some volumetric effect, you can either use these aura volumes, override scattering and color and you will have these "boxes" of fog. If you want something like god-ray effect without physically light your scene, you can create aura light, disabling light itself(while keeping aura light script enabled) and just use "volumetric effect" without lightning your scene
     
  38. DerDicke

    DerDicke

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Posts:
    184
    Thank you for your answer. I already uninstalled Aura though, it just feels too invasive for my application (Dungeon crawler). Maybe reconsider it for terrain part if there will be any. Just in case the author wishes some feedback:

    - it would be nice to have a more localized solution, not effecting all lighting in scene, maybe a separate package? Just localized volume lights including all the fuzz. No change of camera. If camera needs to be altered, let the user drag a script to it and explain what it does.

    - uninstalling (by deleting Aura folder) does not take it out of project settings. Is it really necessary to write to project settings? Perhaps a manager script in scene could handle this?

    - the all-time-on-screen UI (scene window) feels invasive too. Why not just making an editor window like anyone else?

    - some information about what it does and more importantly, what Unity systems are changed would be helpful. Could not find it in documentation.

    Good luck!
     
    atomicjoe, Stardog and wetcircuit like this.
  39. Stardog

    Stardog

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,482
    Agreed here. I haven't used it since it was released, but can't you disable the sidepanel by now? I didn't notice it affecting my camera post.
     
  40. ManiaCCC

    ManiaCCC

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Posts:
    41
    You can hide it completely if you want.
     
  41. big_stoater

    big_stoater

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    Hi All,

    Just got Aura 2. I've setup a spotlight, but the volumetric beam starts a good distance away from the actual light source.
    Any way round this?

    Cheers
     
  42. big_stoater

    big_stoater

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    Got it sorted. I increased the range and depth bias.
     
  43. castor76

    castor76

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    1,567
    I know I can ignore this, but I am super picky.. :D

    Please fix the annoying warning :
    Assets\Standard Assets\Aura 2\System\Code\Editor\Editors\IntroductionScreens.cs(35,13): warning CS0618: 'SceneView.onSceneGUIDelegate' is obsolete: 'onSceneGUIDelegate has been deprecated. Use duringSceneGui instead.'

    On Unity 2019.2.6f1
     
  44. GrassWhooper

    GrassWhooper

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Posts:
    53
    hey there, everyone, so i just got Aura 2 from humble, recently, and i am facing a problem.
    basically, no matter what i do, the scene always stays black.
    i tried opening, the Example Scenes, and nothing changed, they stay black.
    i tried new project, new scene, and clicking all Conversion buttons, but i see only black, nothing shows up on screen in game view.
    but for scene view, i can see somethings, but they're just so dim.

    i am using:
    the standard pipeline, not HD or LW
    AMD 7970 Series GPU
    16GB Ram
    SSD
    i5
    Linux Mint 19.2
    Unity 2018.4.9f1

    so like, any ideas?

    also i get a warning:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. OnRenderImage() possibly didn't write anything to the destination texture!
    2. UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
    3.  

    GarbageCollector disposing of ComputeBuffer allocated in /home/gw/Desktop/Game Projects/For Honor/For Honor/Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/VolumesManager.cs at line 158. Please use ComputeBuffer.Release() or .Dispose() to manually release the buffer.
    UnityEngine.ComputeBuffer:Finalize()

    GarbageCollector disposing of ComputeBuffer allocated in /home/gw/Desktop/Game Projects/For Honor/For Honor/Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/SpotLightsManager.cs at line 95. Please use ComputeBuffer.Release() or .Dispose() to manually release the buffer.
    UnityEngine.ComputeBuffer:Finalize()

    GarbageCollector disposing of ComputeBuffer allocated in /home/gw/Desktop/Game Projects/For Honor/For Honor/Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/VolumesManager.cs at line 88. Please use ComputeBuffer.Release() or .Dispose() to manually release the buffer.
    UnityEngine.ComputeBuffer:Finalize()
     
    Nullic likes this.
  45. castor76

    castor76

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    1,567
    I am wondering if adjusting grid range has drastic effects on the quality. If so, can we adjust near plane for starting the grid in front of camera? I think if we can do this , we can get a lot better resolution out of given setting. All assuming that the grid setting stretches from camera's point of origin till the range.
     
  46. Nullic

    Nullic

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    I have encountered this problem and am also looking for a solution. For me this problem appears at the same unity version on Vulcan api at Nvidia GPU.
    Also i am getting one error with shader
    Shader error in 'ComputeAccumulationComputeShader.compute': '' : syntax error, unexpected TEXTUREBUFFER, expecting COMMA or SEMICOLON at kernel AccumulateLighting at line 19 (on vulkan)
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2019
    GrassWhooper likes this.
  47. MostHated

    MostHated

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Posts:
    911
    Hey there. Are there any known issues with 2019.3(.0b5), the standard renderer, or running on Linux with Vulcan using IL2CPP? I installed into a project and went to the example scenes, but there are no volumetrics, it is just a light/shadows moving around as seen in the link below (Unless my expectations were way off?). No errors or anything, it just looks like it does below.

    I looked through the included documentation hoping to find some information on the project settings requirements, but unless I somehow missed them, I didn't see any. Are there any restrictions such as color space or rendering that must be used?

    https://i.imgur.com/TzexewN.gifv

    Thanks,
    -MH


    Edit - I take that back, I reimported the files, just in case and then received the following error, which seems like the fella above me. I am using Nvidia GPU with Vulcan API as well.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. [Error] Shader error in 'ComputeAccumulationComputeShader.compute': '' :  syntax error, unexpected TEXTUREBUFFER, expecting COMMA or SEMICOLON at kernel AccumulateLighting at line 33 (on vulkan)

    Code (CSharp):
    1. [Exception] ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.
    2. Parameter name: mesh
    3. CommandBuffer.DrawMesh()    /home/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/Graphics/RenderingCommandBuffer.cs:356
    4.  
    5. CommandBuffer.DrawMesh()    /home/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/Graphics/RenderingCommandBuffer.cs:372
    6.  
    7. CommandBuffer.DrawMesh()    /home/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/Graphics/RenderingCommandBuffer.cs:377
    8.  
    9. AuraLight.PackParameters()    Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/AuraLight.cs:642
    10. 640:   _copyShadowmapCommandBuffer.SetGlobalTexture("_ShadowMapTexture", BuiltinRenderTextureType.CurrentActive);
    11. 641:   _copyShadowmapCommandBuffer.SetRenderTarget(shadowMapRenderTexture);
    12. -->642:   _copyShadowmapCommandBuffer.DrawMesh(_storePointLightShadowMapMesh, worldMatrix, _storePointLightShadowMapMaterial, 0);
    13. 644:   Matrix4x4 worldToShadow = Matrix4x4.TRS(LightComponent.transform.position, LightComponent.transform.rotation, Vector3.one * LightComponent.range).inverse;
    14.  
    15. AuraLight.Camera_onPreRender()    Assets/Aura 2/System/Code/Classes/AuraLight.cs:345
    16. 343:       }
    17. -->345:       PackParameters(camera);
    18. 346:   }
    19.  
    20. Camera.FireOnPreRender()    /home/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/Camera/Camera.bindings.cs:351
    21.  
    22. AssetPreviewUpdater.CreatePreviewForAsset()    /home/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/AssetPreviewUpdater.cs:33
    23.  
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2019
    GrassWhooper likes this.
  48. Nullic

    Nullic

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Dev replied me at discord server. He said that the fix will be included in Aura2.1 soon.
     
    MostHated likes this.
  49. Kevsoc

    Kevsoc

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Everything great, but I can't see toolbox :/
    Option for turn on/off doesn't working :(
     
  50. adamz

    adamz

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Posts:
    975
    @raphick

    Will this work with mobile, Oculus Quest to be specific? Thanks.
     
unityunity