Search Unity

Augmented Reality for Broadcast Television

Discussion in 'Virtual Production' started by harveyclayton, Jul 15, 2019.

1. harveyclayton

harveyclayton

Hi, I am new to Unity. I am working in a television news broadcast int the Philippines. I need help on where to find learning resources and tutorials to jump start on Augmented Reality that can be used on broadcasting station or in a studio. I have already a basic knowledge on Unity, I need to learn more on Augmented reality concentrated on broadcast. Most tutorials that I found are focused on using AR in mobile phones, I need to learn Unity using studio cameras.

2. tdmowrer

tdmowrer

Unity supports existing AR SDKs, like Apple's ARKit, Google's ARCore, Magic Leap, Microsoft Hololens, and Vuforia. We do not have our own generic AR solution, so if you want to turn an arbitrary camera into an AR camera, you would need a custom solution. Doing so usually requires calibration for your specific device, such as camera intrinsics and other sensors (e.g., IMU).

I don't know much about solutions available for TV studio cameras. Can the camera report its position and orientation relative to some known reference point?

3. tdmowrer

tdmowrer

Depending on your needs, it is also possible to record or live stream the screen from an iOS or Android device. iOS provides this out-of-the-box, and there are several 3rd party solutions for Android.

4. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

@harveyclayton Maybe you could elaborate a little on what you're trying to do?

5. Matjio

Matjio

Unity Technologies

Hi @harveyclayton,

You basically need precise frame rate in Unity, video IO, camera tracking, and lens distortion.

We have not yet embrassed these subjects to have them built-in to Unity but here are a few resources that could be helpful: