Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Audio Audio stops working on Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by LeagueOfMonkeys, Aug 3, 2017.

  1. LeagueOfMonkeys

    LeagueOfMonkeys

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    33
    Hi,

    I am having an issue with audio that seems to only happen in certain devices (I can only reproduce it on a Galaxy S6 Edge). At some point the audio stops working and the only way to fix it is to kill the app and restart it. I am getting this line on the log that I believe is the responsible for the issue:

    I/AudioFlinger(3108): BUFFER TIMEOUT: remove(4097) from active list on thread 0x

    I haven't been able to find much info online about it, so just wondering if any of you has come across this issue before.

    Thanks!
     
  2. KristoferBoman

    KristoferBoman

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Posts:
    61
    Hi,

    I'm investigating the same problem for 2 weeks now. We have several bug reports from our users about this issue. I've been able to reproduce it 100% on one of our Android phones at the office (Redmi note 4). In our case it happends when loading our menu scene, it happends when the scene activates i.e Awake and Start is called on all monobehaviours.

    I have been trying many different solutions to get Unity not to access this buffer during the scene load. But nothing works...

    Today i filed a bug report, i'll attach the report id once i get it.

    Here is my log.

    01-14 16:25:46.331 727-1204/? I/AudioFlinger: BUFFER TIMEOUT: remove(4097) from active list on thread 0xf0783b80
    01-14 16:25:46.333 3348-3500/? I/AppActiveChecker: uid:10177change to inactive
    01-14 16:25:46.361 727-979/? V/AudioPolicyEffects: releaseOutputSessionEffects: no output processing was attached to this stream
    01-14 16:25:46.361 727-979/? V/AudioPolicyManagerCustom: getNewOutputDevice() selected device 0
    01-14 16:25:47.030 7369-7392/com.sozap.badmen D/Unity: System memory in use after: 274.3 MB.
    Unloading 364 unused Assets to reduce memory usage. Loaded Objects now: 51076.
    Total: 1822.171000 ms (FindLiveObjects: 19.537000 ms CreateObjectMapping: 5.002000 ms MarkObjects: 1792.093000 ms DeleteObjects: 5.538000 ms)
    01-14 16:25:47.064 7369-7392/com.sozap.badmen I/Unity: Starting Elias - Menu music - delay:0
    <StartEliasWithDelay>c__Iterator0:MoveNext()
    UnityEngine.SetupCoroutine:InvokeMoveNext(IEnumerator, IntPtr)
     
  3. Tomas-Kiniulis

    Tomas-Kiniulis

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Posts:
    55
    Hey,

    Have you received report id yet? If not, could you resubmit a new bug report? I'd like to investigate this case, but I can't find your report related to this issue in our database.
     
  4. KristoferBoman

    KristoferBoman

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Posts:
    61
    Hi Tomas
    here is the case id

    (Case 1117290) AudioFlinger BUFFER TIMEOUT

    Thanks,
    Kristofer
     
  5. KristoferBoman

    KristoferBoman

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Posts:
    61
    @Tomas-Kiniulis To add some more information. I managed to "fix" this problem on our Redmi Note 4 by using SceneManager.LoadScene instead of SceneManager.LoadSceneAsync. However, users are still reporting the issue after our last update.

    At the point of loading our menu scene the AudioSource is stopped.

    1. Stop AudioSource
    2. Load Empty scene
    3. Load Menu Scene
    - BUFFER TIMOUT here, when the async operation reaches 90%. I guess the last 10% is for integrating the object on the main thread, calling Awake and Start?
    4. Start Audio

    I have tried to reproduce it in a smaller project to be able to attach it to the bug report, but unfortunately i'm not able to repro the issue.
     
  6. KristoferBoman

    KristoferBoman

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Posts:
    61
  7. KristoferBoman

    KristoferBoman

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Posts:
    61
    Unfortunately they closed the case and they wont open it again until i can reproduce it in a smaller project. Right now i dont have time to chase this bug, but eventually i will need to start again. I'll keep this thread updated with any progress i make.