Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Audio Spatializer in 2020.2

Discussion in '2020.2 Beta' started by jjejj87, Aug 9, 2020.

1. jjejj87

jjejj87

Before I go any further, I must admit that I have very limited experience in audio and even less experience in open world audio.

Basically, my current project has the player walking around in an open environment in First person view. Now, I noticed that the standard audiosource/audioclip combination can depict left/right direction very well but have hard time representing front/back direction.

I have tried resonance by installing it in the package manager, but it seems to make very little to no difference.
    What is the standard approach to this audio issue? Any advise is appreciated and welcomed as I am a total noob when it comes to audio spatialization. Thanks!

2. laurentlavigne

laurentlavigne

For me resonance makes a HUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE difference.
    So check that you're using i right. It requires tons of setup like resonance components on source and listener, the right spacialization toggle here and there and perhaps in recent package there is an option to chose the transfer function, maybe you head doesn't fall into the average head sample.

3. jjejj87

jjejj87

I get the feeling my setup was not correct. I will give it a try again :)

4. jjejj87

jjejj87

It looks like the package is deprecated and is no longer functional in 2020.2

I can't find further information so I am confused whether it is me who can't figure this out or the actual package not working with 2020.2

Can the devs chime in and provide some guidance?

5. jjejj87

jjejj87

Can someone advise please.

6. laurentlavigne

laurentlavigne

they're busy preparing slides for the IPO

jjejj87 likes this.
  7. jjejj87

jjejj87

This is ridiculous though...
    It is 2020 and the 3d engine doesn't have audio spatialization...