Search Unity

Audio based on player position

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Velketor, Oct 21, 2007.

1. Velketor

Velketor

Hello,

I am new to Unity and I am attempting to have an audio clip fade in and out depending on how close the player is to the object.

At the moment, I have placed an Audio Source on an object and I have added an audio clip to it. The object currently plays the audio clip at the same volume no matter how close/far away the user is from the object.

Does anyone know of a script that allows the player to hear the audio clip at full volume when they are near the object...but as the player moves away from the object they will hear less and less of the audio clip...?

Any suggestions/support is GREATLY appreciated =) Thanks!

--Velk

2. antenna-tree

antenna-tree

The Audio Clip has to be in mono for spatialized sounds to work. The other factor is the Rolloff Factor setting for the Audio Source in the Inspector.

3. Velketor

Velketor

Thanks for the quick response, I appreciate it =)

When you say Mono...do you mean, only being able to hear sound from one of your speakers or...?

Also, does anyone know if I can make an audio track save in "Mono" format in Soundtrack Pro?

Thanks again =)

--Velk

4. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

Yes, as in the left and right channels mixed together into one channel.

If not, "Audacity" will mix and save to one track and is free...

5. stimarco

stimarco

A mono recording is a recording with a single track of audio, so you only see one waveform in the sample editor. This means it can be played back from a single point.

Stereo adds a second track -- a second waveform -- in the sample editor. The waveforms correspond to the audio emitted from each of two speakers: a left speaker and a right speaker. This is how most music is recorded and is what most headphones support.