Search Unity

Question Assigning Tags to "Players" and/or "Host"

Discussion in 'Netcode for GameObjects' started by edmartine418, Jun 13, 2021.

1. edmartine418

edmartine418

As the title describes I am having an issue assigning tags to players when using MLAPI before and after server boot. Whenever I assign a tag to the player, the tag is applied to all players in the existing lobby and to make matters worse my other computers are able to use different tags meaning that the server isn't retaining and loading the data for individuals but setting all of the players to one static tag. The problem is most likely one dealing with the code side of things and since I'm brand new to servers and multiplayer entirely it would be helpful if someone could point out any links I may be missing in my chain of commands.
    I am currently modifying one of the labs I have been learning from in order to play with something that already works and have added the following lines:​
    • HelloWorldPlayer.cs
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using MLAPI;
    2. using MLAPI.Messaging;
    3. using MLAPI.NetworkVariable;
    4. using UnityEngine;
    6. //How do you assign a tag to each player using MLAPI?
    7. //How do you apply rules to a tag after the server starts and new players join?
    8. namespace HelloWorld
    9. {
    10.     public class HelloWorldPlayer : NetworkBehaviour
    11.     {
    12.         //This function makes the server the only one able to modify positions. (Any other way and you wouldnt have a syncronized game)
    13.         public NetworkVariableVector3 Position = new NetworkVariableVector3(new NetworkVariableSettings
    14.         {
    15.             WritePermission = NetworkVariablePermission.ServerOnly,
    16.             ReadPermission = NetworkVariablePermission.Everyone
    17.         });
    19.         public override void NetworkStart()
    20.         {