Search Unity

Assets to learn for a non coder?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by ripjawwolffang, Jun 2, 2019.

1. ripjawwolffang

ripjawwolffang

to start I just want to say hello!
    I’ve been peering around at unity for ages, watched lots of tutorials and browsed the asset store- and I want to know which of these are worth buying and learning and which I should save my money on?
    Now, I have made games before using other non coding game design tools, (rpg maker for instance and I’ve done art for the old school flash games) but I really want to get into 3D because I enjoy 3D sculpting so much more then drawing and I really want to do something with my models... a monster/hunting farming game would be perfect for what I’m used to doing which is creature creation. Though an rts with these models would also be very fun! Really I just want to world build I’m not going into this expecting to make money or anything like that.. .
    Issue is, I’m not a programmer. I will never be a programmer. I’ve tried. Truth is I’m 28 and i still struggle to type coherent sentences in English let alone code. I know unreal has a visual scripting add on, and I’ve seen some in the asset store for unity to... I’m not sure which are worth it and which aren’t... and I’m not sure if I should invest in some kind of asset pack for the type of game I want to make or not... really, I just want some guidance that isn’t more of the same tutorials I’ve watched already.
    I honestly just want to throw something together that I don’t have to throw to much money a to learn how to do it all, so I can get to putting something better together next time... the tools to throw together something rough is all I need. Preferably some kind of c grade slime rancher or Pokémon let’s go clone since that would teach me virtually what I need to get where I want to go in the end...

Thanks <3

Last edited: Jun 2, 2019
  2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout