Search Unity

Asset vendor propose paid service for solving issue, should I be pissed ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by OthmanT, Mar 23, 2018.

1. OthmanT

OthmanT

Hello everyone,

I bought some days ago a useful asset for my project, at a certain cost : 85$. Which is fine considering the time this asset should have saved me.

That being said, I encountered several blocking issues, which is not so fine considering the price, but as a developer I can understand that not everything is tested on every platform sometimes.

The main issue is a memory free() function written in C, something I didn't do since my ing study, so I'm kinda rusty about it. Commenting this part of his code completely removed a recurring crash.

So I contacted the developer regarding this issue ( and some other). At first he said it was probably a problem from my end. So I kindly demontred to him that his code was in fault. What he sent to me as a solution ? a link to a stackoverflow thread to help me debug his code. I again kindly answered that I had no time to debug his work.
    He answered with a proposition : "(...)If you have a lack of time we can kindly offer you development services (paid support) from our side. Let me know if you are interested about this. From our point of view the link contains valuable information for your case(...)"

I'm kinda surprised, is this normal ? Or am I wrong for being upset being offered paid support ?

Thanks

2. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

Your payment to the asset store probably covered his time to respond to your email and not much else. $85 is pocket change.

Teila, LaneFox, Socrates and 3 others like this.
  3. zoran404

zoran404

The alternative would be to make the asset really expensive, which would probably turn away most of the users.
    The only reason why they would agree to do it for free would be if they do it as a hobby.