Search Unity

Asset Usage Finder v3.0 - Effective solution with simple UI - 20x faster!

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Gotlight, May 17, 2016.

  1. WF_Bart

    WF_Bart

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    Hey; I just bought this asset and it's really useful.
    One bug I encountered.

    I searched for 'scene usages' of a script that was on a prefab. The window told me the script was in every scene that had that particular prefab. I then removed the script from the prefab. Now it still shows the same list of scenes that supposedly use the script, even though it's no longer there (I'm guessing this is cached).
     
  2. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi @WF_Bart. Thanks for your report. Please try to save project (see screenshot below). Please write me back if it worked for you.


    Denis
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2017
  3. krzysztof_janik

    krzysztof_janik

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    @Gotlight Hi, in general tool is awesome, but i have one problem with it. It was mentioned in some of the previous posts by someone. When i search for usage of texture i see prefabs where it is used as an image, but i can't see exact path to this specific object where my image is referenced. It is problematic with some more complex prefabs that have many children. Is it possible to add this?
     
  4. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi, thanks for your question. The exact path has been already implemented. Due to the possibility of extremely long paths, you can see it on mouse hover on prefab in Asset Usage Finder window

    upload_2017-12-12_11-28-5.png
     
  5. krzysztof_janik

    krzysztof_janik

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    @Gotlight Cool! Now it's more than awesome :) thank you!
     
    Gotlight likes this.
  6. Infrid

    Infrid

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Posts:
    67
    can we force the search to reuse just one window? So if I start a new search, I can hit a toggle that will automatically close the old window and keep just one? It's only a small thing; but when I have to go through a ton of unrelated assets, it'd make my life that little bit more streamlined.

    Great asset, left you a well deserved 5 star review.
     
    Gotlight likes this.
  7. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi, thanks for your question and review! We'll take a look at it and maybe we'll create a special version for you with this feature (as so far you are the only one who came with this idea :)). Please send me your email address via PM.

    For now, you can close those windows by pressing Esc button. Maybe it would be enough for you, let me know pls :)

    D.
     
  8. redmugstudios

    redmugstudios

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Posts:
    60
    Does the asset supports finding references for a child prefab? I have tried a different asset on the store and when I search for a child prefab to know who are the scripts that referencing this child prefab, it shows 0 results where in fact the parent prefab on the same scene is the one referencing it.
     
  9. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi Silvershunt, thank you for your question and sorry for the delay.

    Child prefabs were introduced in Unity 2018.3, before it, there were only one level prefabs.
    I must admit that you're the first potential user that requires this feature. If there is an interest from more customers, we'll consider including this feature into the product!

    By the way, according to our customers and our own experience as well, Asset Usage Finder is one of the simplest yet powerful tools in asset usage finding area available on market.

    Thanks for your idea as it helps us to improve our product.
    Feel free to ask me if you have any questions.
    Denis
     
    redmugstudios likes this.
  10. ScherfLab

    ScherfLab

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    This seems to be working well so far. Nice job. Am getting the following error when I click Search Scenes )Version 2017.3.1f1)

    InvalidOperationException: Operation is not valid due to the current state of the object
    System.Collections.Stack.Pop () (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Collections/Stack.cs:329)
    UnityEngine.GUILayoutUtility.EndLayoutGroup () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/IMGUI/Managed/GUILayoutUtility.cs:323)
    UnityEngine.GUILayout.EndVertical () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/IMGUI/Managed/GUILayout.cs:342)
    UnityEditor.EditorGUILayout.EndVertical () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/EditorGUI.cs:7863)
    AssetUsageFinder.DependencyWindow.OnGUI () (at Assets/Admin/Asset Usage Finder/Editor/DependencyWindow.cs:78)
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoMethod.cs:222)
    Rethrow as TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoMethod.cs:232)
    System.Reflection.MethodBase.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Object[] parameters) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MethodBase.cs:115)
    UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName, System.Object obj) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:295)
    UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:288)
    UnityEditor.HostView.InvokeOnGUI (Rect onGUIPosition) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:255)
     
  11. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi ScherfLab! Thanks for you question and positive valuation of our product (and sorry for the delay in replying to you :)).

    The thing is that unfortunately, we're not able to read the whole situation from this log. Could you provide us with the exact situation, what you've been doing, if it's still the case? That's the first report of this kind so far.

    Thanks!
    D.
     
  12. NawarRajab

    NawarRajab

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Posts:
    18
    Hi, I'm getting this error when searching scriptable ojebts:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. InvalidOperationException: Operation is not valid due to the current state of the object
    3. System.Collections.Stack.Pop () (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Collections/Stack.cs:329)
    4. UnityEngine.GUILayoutUtility.EndLayoutGroup () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/IMGUI/Managed/GUILayoutUtility.cs:323)
    5. UnityEngine.GUILayout.EndVertical () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/IMGUI/Managed/GUILayout.cs:342)
    6. UnityEditor.EditorGUILayout.EndVertical () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/EditorGUI.cs:7863)
    7. AssetUsageFinder.DependencyWindow.OnGUI () (at Assets/Asset Usage Finder/Editor/DependencyWindow.cs:78)
    8. System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoMethod.cs:222)
    9. Rethrow as TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
    10. System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoMethod.cs:232)
    11. System.Reflection.MethodBase.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Object[] parameters) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MethodBase.cs:115)
    12. UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName, System.Object obj) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:295)
    13. UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:288)
    14. UnityEditor.HostView.InvokeOnGUI (Rect onGUIPosition) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:255)
    15.  
    16.  
     
  13. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi Nawar Rajab! Thank you for your report.

    **EDIT**
    We've been able to simulate your bug on older version of Unity. We'll fix it with the next version, but can send you the fixed version via email now.

    Can you provide us with your email address please?

    Thanks!
    D.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2018
  14. NawarRajab

    NawarRajab

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Posts:
    18
    Hi, I've sent you a PM. Thanks alot!
     
    Gotlight likes this.
  15. Fronne

    Fronne

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Posts:
    109
    Great Asset!

    The only reason why I didn't wrote a 5 star Review, is a missing button or option to clear the cache...

    Sometimes I have to clear it manual because after copying Objects, Asset Usage Finder doesn't always find all references because it's relying on the cache (and that could be very dangerous)...

    Cheers!
    Franco Palmieri - Fronne
     
  16. LeFx_Tom

    LeFx_Tom

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Hi there,
    cool tool so far, but i do have some issues:

    when using it to search scene wide, it often shows all scenes in the project, although the prefab (for example) is only used in one of those scenes.

    Furthermore, it gives me the following error, when doing the scene-search:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. InvalidOperationException: Operation is not valid due to the current state of the object
    2. System.Collections.Stack.Pop () (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Collections/Stack.cs:329)
    3. UnityEngine.GUILayoutUtility.EndLayoutGroup () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/IMGUI/Managed/GUILayoutUtility.cs:323)
    4. UnityEngine.GUILayout.EndVertical () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/IMGUI/Managed/GUILayout.cs:342)
    5. UnityEditor.EditorGUILayout.EndVertical () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/EditorGUI.cs:7863)
    6. AssetUsageFinder.DependencyWindow.OnGUI () (at Assets/3rdParty/Asset Usage Finder/Editor/DependencyWindow.cs:78)
    7. System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoMethod.cs:222)
    8. Rethrow as TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
    9. System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoMethod.cs:232)
    10. System.Reflection.MethodBase.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Object[] parameters) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MethodBase.cs:115)
    11. UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName, System.Object obj) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:295)
    12. UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:288)
    13. UnityEditor.HostView.InvokeOnGUI (Rect onGUIPosition) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:255)
    14.  
    We're running unity 2017.3.1f btw
     
  17. LesBloom

    LesBloom

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Posts:
    81
    Hi @Gotlight ,

    I have been encountering an issue where it will rebuild the cache very often. It seems like it happens the first time I use it for the day. Maybe it's when I close and reopen Unity? I am not exactly sure. This wouldn't be so bad except for that it takes about 10 minutes to build the cache.

    Any help would be appreciated
     
  18. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi @Fronne , thank you for your feedback! You're the first user to report us such issue.. Would it help if we create the special version for you with such button? :) If so, please provide me with your e-mail address (you can PM me).

    Thanks!
    D.

    P.S. sorry for the late reply ;)
     
  19. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi @funnersoft , thank you for your question. Unfortunately, Unity disables the cache in these cases.. We'll try to find some workaround for this situation. I'll provide you with an update if we find it.

    Thanks,
    D.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2018
  20. CodeBombQuinn

    CodeBombQuinn

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    This is an awesome product! We're also switching to 2018.3 and nested prefabs. Would love to see this searching implemented into the new Prefab Workflow. Any idea when that could become available?

    Thanks!
     
  21. plmx

    plmx

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Posts:
    249
    It seems that when searching for sprites, their usage within a UI Image ("Source Image") is not found. What I did was this: Leftclick on the sprite asset in the project, select "File usages", then click "Search Scenes". The correct scene is listed. Then click "Open Scene and Search", which results in nothing ("No file dependencies found"), although the sprite is in fact used in an image in that scene.
     
  22. pajamajama

    pajamajama

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Posts:
    55
    @Gotlight just want to bump the requests to update for nested prefab searching. Is that being worked on? This plugin seems mostly unusable now in 2018.3+
     
  23. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi, thanks for letting us know. We'll start the work on this feature in the nearest feature as we see there are more people interested in it.

    Thank you,
    D.
     
  24. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi, sorry for the late reply, is it still the case? If so, we'll try to simulate and fix it together with an update discussed above.

    Thank you,
    D.
     
  25. pajamajama

    pajamajama

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Posts:
    55
    dang. In that case, you should probably update the supported Unity versions to be "5.3.4 to 2018.2", instead of "5.3.4 or higher".
     
    sonnyb likes this.
  26. jonagill_rr

    jonagill_rr

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Posts:
    31
    Seconding interest for a version of this that supports 2018.3 and nested prefabs.
     
    afshinunity likes this.
  27. JohnnyFactor

    JohnnyFactor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Posts:
    146
    This was working well for a while but now it seems the cache is out of date maybe? I searched for an image file and it showed usages in a lot of materials using Amplify shaders. I replaced that image with another one but the file usage window still shows it in use. I think I could use that "clear cache" button too.
     
    afshinunity likes this.
  28. Tony707

    Tony707

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    +1 for 2018.3 support.
     
    afshinunity likes this.
  29. sonnyb

    sonnyb

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    +1 for 2018.3 support.
     
    afshinunity likes this.
  30. Split82

    Split82

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    Can't wait for the 2018.3 support. Thanks for the great work :)
     
    afshinunity likes this.
  31. sonnyb

    sonnyb

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    I also agree with this, and there is another comment in the reviews

    "At least update the description to mention that it is not compatible with 2018.3+"
    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/tools/utilities/asset-usage-finder-59997

    I'm still hoping this gets updated someday! Thanks
     
    afshinunity likes this.
  32. PatrickLipo

    PatrickLipo

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Posts:
    28
    Just what I would need: I had my finger on the "Buy" button but then I saw the issues with 2018.3. Eager for an update!
     
    afshinunity likes this.
  33. Brechtos

    Brechtos

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Posts:
    14
    Been using this asset for over 2 years and really hoping for an update that supports 2018.3+ in the near future :)
    To me this is an essential maintenance asset/feature that should be available from inside the engine to begin with!
     
    afshinunity likes this.
  34. Meatloaf4

    Meatloaf4

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Posts:
    51
    Also want to add my support for the update.

    Love this asset
     
  35. Archanor

    Archanor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    403
    +1 vote for 2018.3 support. Would be happy to pay again.
     
    afshinunity likes this.
  36. MildaGenius2

    MildaGenius2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    Waiting for 2018.3 support too.
     
    afshinunity likes this.
  37. Stexe

    Stexe

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Posts:
    77
    Any idea when/if there will be 2018.3 and 2019 support?
     
    afshinunity likes this.
  38. afshinunity

    afshinunity

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    i got a whole bunch of errors using this package with unity 2018.3. also changes unity editor ui to a wierd thing after playing an audio file.
     
  39. murgonen

    murgonen

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    +1 for Unity 2018.3/2019 support. Thankfully we use 2018.2 so I'll buy it anyway, but if we upgrade at some point it would be nice to have support.
     
  40. SugoiDev

    SugoiDev

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Posts:
    280
    Is there any news for nested prefabs support on newer Unity versions?