Search Unity

  1. Calling all beginners! Join the FPS Beginners Mods Challenge until December 13.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. It's Cyber Week at the Asset Store!
    Dismiss Notice

Asset Usage Finder v3.0 - Effective solution with simple UI - 20x faster!

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Gotlight, May 17, 2016.

  1. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    If you've got a project and need to quickly understand what it is about, this asset is right for you!
    • For every reference on an asset, a particular field where it's being used will be shown
    • Works with NodeCanvas, Mecanim and uGUI
    Version 3.0 released!
    • greately improved speed (more than 20x)
    • improvements based on customers' feedback
    • bug fixes







    Problems you can solve with Asset Usage Finder:

    1) Let’s say you have a texture used by several prefabs and probably in scenes. You need a list with assets using it. Given you aren’t familiar with the project, it can be a challenging task.

    With Asset Usage Finder, you can manage it in few steps:
    - Right-click on the texture in Project View -> "File Usages"
    - You'll see all asset usages in project
    - For usages in scene, click "Search Scenes" in window
    - Usages in scenes will be shown below

    2) You want to know who the hell is disabling your MainMenu GameObject in opened scene during Playmode.

    - In Hierarchy view, right-click on MainMenu GameObject -> “Usages in scene”
    - You'll see all references on your MainMenu GameObject in opened project

    Feel free to ask your questions.
    Every month, we'll give away 1 Asset Usage Finder voucher here :)

    For screenshots, features and videos, visit:
    Free vouchers!
    • June: ASV-QK4L-RE7W-T973-NHRN-HLYU
    • July: ASV-HQ93-LP37-4GYW-TCNL-QRYG
    • August: ASV-J7E6-DNME-U9E3-93CX-NDE9
    • September: ASV-UKQP-JH6K-FG36-PYFJ-V3QC
    • October: ASV-9DNM-VXGM-7D6C-4V4T-AHVA
    • November: ASV-9UHD-34VL-A9GL-JMHN-DHEE
    • December:
      ASV-WJRG-H3PY-CUAE-PLDR-QUTQ

    -------------------------
    FAQ
    Q: Does the asset find usages in Scene?
    A: Yes, it does. It offers search for both GameObject and Component Usages.

    Q: Does this work with animator state machine behaviors?
    A: Yes, it does. It offers search for usages of every asset you can find in Project view

    Q: Does it work with sprites that are atlased?
    A: Yes, it does. For every usage, particular field where your target is being used will be shown (see gif)

    Q: Does it show particular method names that are using my target?
    A: Yes, it does. For every usage, particular method name is shown. see screenshot
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2018
  2. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Here are two vouchers for Asset Usage Finder v2.0! :)
    • ASV-V4UE-MPRQ-K4AH-WXWX-MG3X
    • ASV-3NHD-JW3X-WKDM-6R9H-MXMU
    We'll be very glad if you could write us a review.
    Thanks!
     
  3. TheWarper

    TheWarper

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Posts:
    85
    Does this also work with animator state machine behaviours?
     
  4. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi, thanks for your question! Yes it does work with animator state machine behaviors.

    For example, when you search for usages of Script, you'll get all its usages, including animator states if there are some:

     
    dkey00 and TheWarper like this.
  5. ChosenWell

    ChosenWell

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    Does this work with materials? I am looking to know where a material is being used and where there is a second copy of the same material. We need to reduce our overall material count with ease.
     
    Yukon likes this.
  6. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi ChosenWell! Thank you for your question.

    Yes it does work with materials and you can change the used asset with drag&drop (e.g. change the "copy" with the "original" one)

    By the way, you can take a look on Material usages search using our asset in this video:


    Denis
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2016
    Yukon likes this.
  7. tailored

    tailored

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Waiting for the next ones!! hopefully I'll be here :rolleyes:
     
    Yukon likes this.
  8. ChosenWell

    ChosenWell

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    Gotlight likes this.
  9. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    October voucher is here!
    • ASV-E6XY-U9V6-PW9P-TDTE-RVHG
     
  10. brunoleos

    brunoleos

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Posts:
    30
    Can I find the GameObjects which are using a specified script method as a handler to unity events, referenced through drag&drop in the editor?

    For example, say buttonA uses the method MyScript.ClickHandler() to handle its OnClick event, setup at the Inspector via drag&drop. Given that I want to search for MyScript.ClickHandler(), I expect to find buttonA with your tool.

    EDIT: Man, I just found that I can get the references through the context menu on my script, with "Find references in scene". I can't search for method name though, but enough for now, thanks anyway ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2016
    Gotlight likes this.
  11. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi! Thanks for your question (and answer)! :)

    Regarding the method name - Asset Usage Finder does show the names of particular methods using your target:



    Cheers!
    Denis
     
  12. Tony707

    Tony707

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi,

    We're currently testing your plugin and it looks very promising.

    Our project becomes very big and the project search takes a lot of time.
    Is there a way we can filter the project search by file type ?
    e.g. Find References In Prefabs, Find References in Materials, Find References in Scenes, etc.

    This could help to speed up the search in some cases.

    Thank you.
     
    Gotlight likes this.
  13. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi Tony, thank you for your question! Unfortunately, current version (v2.0) doesn't contain this feature. However, we were considering it, too.
    • We'll add this filter feature in the next update (v.2.1)
    It will be released around 15th of December (depending on how long will review take).

    Denis
     
    Tony707 likes this.
  14. Aims_

    Aims_

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,
    I am trying to find the usage of my old assets. Here is what I am getting

    ref1.png

    @1 - It is showing incomplete path. In both the prefabs, there are lots of gameobjects having images.
    @2 - No information for the gameobjects in scene.

    I sure I am suppose to get more specific info as shown in above posts. How do I get that?
    I am using Unity 5.4.3f1.
     
    Gotlight likes this.
  15. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi! Thank you for your questions :)

    1) For Prefabs, Asset Usage Finder shows the path to component that's using it. But, certainly, you're right, it's more important to see path in hierarchy in this case. We'll include this change in the next update.
    2) We've simulated this "bug" few times before, but the only situation it it didn't work was when the Scene hadn't been saved. Is it your case or you have a different situation?

    Waiting for your answer,
    Denis
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2016
  16. Aims_

    Aims_

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the reply Denis.

    @2 - My scenes are saved.
    Hope to see the next update soon.
     
  17. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    OK, we'll try to simulate and fix it.

    We'll let you know if we manage it in the next release which will be in the middle of December.

    Thank you! D
     
  18. grantiki

    grantiki

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Hello, is there some December Voucher to try it? thanks a lot! best regards
     
  19. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi, I'll post it in the first message in this thread in December. However, I can't guarantee that it will be you who'll get it first, so you should be quick and lucky enough ;).




    Cheers!
    Denis
     
  20. Rob-Davis

    Rob-Davis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    I've purchased this and imported it into my project. I restarted Unity. I can't see your package appearing anywhere - nothing in the menus, nothing in the right-click context menu. I'm using Unity 5.4.2 on OSX 10.11.6.
     
  21. Rob-Davis

    Rob-Davis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Ah, also you've broken my project! There are errors in the package as follows:

    * Assets/DependencyPro/Editor/Data/FindDependencies.cs(173,32): error CS0117: `Assert' does not contain a definition for `NotNull'

    * Assets/DependencyPro/Editor/Data/SearchTarget.cs(21,20): error CS0117: `Assert' does not contain a definition for `IsNotNull'
     
  22. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    It's really strange that you don't have Assert.IsNotNull method defined. It's part of a standard Unity library we're using called UnityEngine.Assertions (see Unity doc for Assert.IsNotNull).
    • Probably, there is a conflict with other package in your project that redefines Assert class.
    Please, check your inbox - we've sent you a unitypackage without Assert class usage.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2016
  23. jaywinyeah

    jaywinyeah

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    I just bought your asset and it's very cool! I have a large project and the search for file-usages took 28 minutes.
    So I switched the GetDependencies() call to this:

    AssetDatabase.GetDependencies(assetPath, false) //only grab the top-level dependencies

    With this change, the search for file-usages takes 4 minutes the first time, and then only 17 seconds for each time after that (I guess the Editor caches the dependencies). Is this a safe optimization to make? Thanks and looking forward to your next version.
     
    Gotlight likes this.
  24. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi! Thank you for your question. We'll take a look and give you an answer via PM.

    Denis
     
  25. JMousey

    JMousey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    Great tool & Purchased! One small inquiry I have, I have thousands and thousands of files and the search is pretty lengthy. I do not know linq too well, so curious if there is a way to modify :
    public static IEnumerable<ResultRow> FilesThatReference(SearchTarget target)
    such that it searches a specific starting folder or asset extensions rather than all of Assets/...

    Say only under Assets/PathStart/ ?
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2017
    Gotlight likes this.
  26. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi JMousey, sorry for the late answer. You can change folders you want to search in by changing Paths array in FindDependencies class (see screenshot below). By default, there is whole Assets folder



    Please let me know if it worked for you!
    Thanks, Denis
     
  27. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Unfortunately, you have blocked PMs, so I'm sending an answer here. Sorry for the late answer, fixing our reaction time from now on back to normal.:)

    The answer for your question above is YES. Thank you for the idea. The search is faster using your method, but we're planning to implement even the other one - cacheing :), so follow us up on Twitter to be the first to know ;)

    Thank you and everyone for your ideas and questions, we really appreciate it as you give us material on how to improve Asset Usage Finder and help users to make the most from our asset.

    Denis
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2017
  28. hermit_purple

    hermit_purple

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    Hi, do you know if this can find reference in PlayMaker actions?
     
    Gotlight likes this.
  29. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi! Yes it can

    Cheers,
    Denis
     
  30. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Nice asset. I just purchased it but right away I'm getting a warning in the console:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Assets/DependencyPro/Editor/DependencyWindow.cs(39,29): warning CS0649: Field `DependencyPro.DependencyWindow.Style.RowLabel' is never assigned to, and will always have its default value `null'
    Not critical but it would be nice if it was fixed so this warning doesn't pop up everytime Unity recompiles.

    Also it would be nice if you could include DLLs for this asset as well.
     
  31. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi! Warning is fixed in v3.0 that was released today, please update.
    We considered packing source code to DLL but agreed that users would rather want code than black-box dll.

    Thank you for your understanding!
    Denis
     
  32. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    You could do both. You can give the source code and zip the dlls with the source code for those of us who would rather have dlls. :)
     
  33. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Thanks, we'll consider your suggestion.

    By the way, @Tony707 @JMousey @jaywinyeah @Aims_ , few days ago we released v3.0 update where seach speed is greately improved (more than 20x)! Thanks for your feedback and go grab your upgrade ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2017
  34. LesBloom

    LesBloom

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Posts:
    81
    Hi @Gotlight , thank you for making this plugin. It's a feature I have wanted from Unity for a long time.

    I think I am encountering a bug. Here is my repro:

    1) Find usage of a scriptable object in the project view
    2) Looks good
    3) Rename the scriptable object
    4) Find usage again

    I get 1 of 2 result. If I haven't saved yet, I get errors to the console. If I have saved, I don't get any matching results.

    Edit 1: I tried relaunching Unity, and I get the same erroneous results.
    Edit 2: Ever since posting this, I have been getting only errors with the find usage. I no longer get any results for any search.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2017
    Gotlight likes this.
  35. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi @funnersoft ! Thank you very much for your report. We've just simulated the issue. As soon as we fix it, I'll send you an update and we'll release a hotfix.

    Sorry for the inconvenience caused.
    Denis

    EDIT: We have fixed the issue and sent the 3.0.1 hotfix for a review. @funnersoft please provide us your email through PM so we can send you unitypackage before it will be on Store.
    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2017
  36. JMousey

    JMousey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    It did ! Thanks
     
    Gotlight likes this.
  37. LGGDevs

    LGGDevs

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    There seems to be a bug where it is not able to find custom PlayMaker action script referenced in PlayMaker FSM. It's able to find assets referenced from FSM, but not action script.

    Steps to reproduce:
    Create a custom PlayMaker action script, call it TestAction
    Add a PlayMaker FSM to a game object, then add the TestAction to the FSM
    Click on TestAction script in Project panel, then drop down menu GameObject/- Usages In Scene

    Result:
    The search return empty
     
  38. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi LGGDevs! Thank you for your report. We'll simulate it ASAP and let you know about the results.

    Denis
     
  39. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi, we've simulated your case and unfortunately, Hutong Games uses custom state serialization in PlayMaker Actions instead of standard Unity's. Thus, Asset Usage Finder is not able to find Playmaker action scripts.

    Nevertheless, it's able to search for FSM usages across scenes and prefabs.
    If it's enough for you, we can send you unitypackage with small hotfix before it will be on Asset Store.
    If it's not, we will send you a refund.

    In both cases, please send us your email via PM or assetusagefinder@gmail.com

    Thank you
    Denis
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2017
  40. skynyrd7

    skynyrd7

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Dear,
    I have a FBX file(core_effect.fbx) that I used for a mesh particle that is a billboard now.

    When I execute "-File Usages" for the FBX file, the list has the prefab file of billboard particle, because the prefab file has the mesh file name that is not actually used.

    "-File Usages" should check the actual file usages, this feature makes your Asset Usage Finder more powerful, I think.

    Thanks
     
  41. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Dear skynyrd7, thanks for your patience.

    If Asset Usage Finder shows dependency, then it means it is actually used - has a reference to mesh that is shown in search results.

    If we properly understood your case, particles inside a prefab have reference to some mesh that is part of .fbx file.
    If you wish, you can send us a screenshot of Asset Usage Finder results in the mentioned situation, and we'll try to explain it more specifically.

    Thank you,
    Denis
     
  42. janiuk

    janiuk

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Any voucher coming for august? I'm interested in this plugin and curious if it's as powerful as stated.
     
  43. skynyrd7

    skynyrd7

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Dear Gotlight,

    I used "core_effect.fbx" as a mesh particle, but the particle is billboard now.
    I know that the prefab has "core_effect.fbx" for Renderer Mesh property, but it is now actually used.

    My fx artists have changed a lot of particles from mesh to billboard,
    but Asset Usage Finder shows that those fbx files are still used.

    Thanks,
     

    Attached Files:

  44. Beru

    Beru

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Hi, I'm loving this plugin so far. One question related with Playmaker (I'm not sure if it's totally related with the one asked a few post ago):

    Would it be possible to get the name of the State which contains the reference I look for? It's not a big deal, but it would defintely save some extra time with busy FSM.

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2017
  45. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Sure, stay tuned ;)
     
  46. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Sorry for the delay in communication. Could you please send us billboard, mesh and prefab - all the assets that are part of the described situation in unitypackage - so we can fully simulate it? Not sure if it's lack of asset description or bug. The email address is assetusagefinder@gmail.com.

    Thanks!
    Denis
     
  47. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi Beru, yes, the name of the states are shown (please see screenshot with an example)
    statenames.png
    Thanks, Denis
     
  48. Xtro

    Xtro

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    302
    Does this scan all the scenes in the project when I search for an asset reference or does it only search for the loaded scene?
     
  49. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi and sorry for the late reply, have been quite busy last days.

    It can search both inside current scene and across scenes as well.
    1) Search in the loaded scene via Hierarchy tab:

    current scene.jpg

    2) Search process across the scenes is done in 3 simple steps, beginning with a Project view:
    1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg

    After you see the scenes, you can do the search in the one you want: (There was a bug report on this feature that (un)fortunately hadn't show up again neither to reporter, nor our team, nor anyone else)

    4.jpg

    Thanks!
    Denis
     
  50. Gotlight

    Gotlight

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi @Venecius! Thanks for the review of Asset Usage Finder. Regarding your question - you can open multiple searches at once in different windows (see example below):



    In case your question is about some kind of search history - unfortunately it's not available in our asset as we try to keep it as minimalist as possible.

    Please let me know if I answered your question.

    PS: If you like our asset, we'd be thankful if you change your review to a 5-star one :)
    Thanks!