Search Unity

1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Asset Store Broken or is it me?

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by UdiHrant, Nov 9, 2011.

1. UdiHrant

UdiHrant

I'm new to Unity. there is an in-app portal to the Asset STore that I can never seem to get to work. Is it broken or is it me?

2. sybixsus2

sybixsus2

How long are you giving it to load? I'm on a 16mbps line and it takes a couple of minutes to even load the home page.

3. Alienchild

Alienchild

It's broken by design.

4. tertle

tertle

If I alt tab while asset store is loading, unity locks up for me. But if I'm patient and let it load it boots up pretty quick.

5. sybixsus2

sybixsus2

Aye, alt-tabbing definitely causes problems and it's very tempting to do it when it takes so long (for me, anyway). The window stays there after you close it once it's frozen, and it prevents the console from opening properly. Eventually, you're forced to shut it down because the store window is preventing the run button from even working. It's pretty sad that all the store problems have been ignored for so long.

6. lasse

lasse

Unity Technologies

UdiHrant: We'll need some more details to go on... What happens when you open the asset store in the editor? Does it load slowly, partially or not at all?

sybixsus2: I can't seem to find a bug report matching your description... Do you have a case number you can send me?

The store usually loads in a few seconds for me - 15 seconds tops (and no, we don't sit closer to the servers)... How many packages do you have in the download manager?

7. tra2002

tra2002