Search Unity

  1. Unity 2017.2 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice

Asset Server and Lightmaps

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Tony-P, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. Tony-P

    Tony-P

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    So this is a bug that was a bit tricky to find. If you happen to use Asset server and do any work with lightmaps, please let me know if we're the only people finding this issue.

    Steps:
    1. Create a new project and commit it to the asset server.
    2. Create a simple scene with lightmap.
    3. Generate the lightmap and then commit your changes to the asset server.
    4. Clear your lightmaps and rebake.
    5. Try to commit your new changes. You will then be prompted that you're out of date and need to sync.

    This isn't a terrible thing to work around if it's just one or two people and updates have been frequent, but it's rather annoying and potentially dangerous.

    I've attached a sample project in case there is something that I'm doing wrong, or if I'm missing a setting somewhere.

    We're using the latest version of asset server and unity 4.0.0f.


    -T
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 4, 2012
  2. roxIndie

    roxIndie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Posts:
    19
    Same problem here. Started happening after upgrade to Unity 4... :(
     
  3. PolishRenegade

    PolishRenegade

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    586
    Had this for a while. It's not new to 4.x.

    Can you send a bug report to Unity?
     
  4. scritchy

    scritchy

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Posts:
    89
    we have this as well and its causing us a lot of trouble.
    nearing end of project and updates are taking a substantial amount of time, so this is now causing a righteous time sink.
    anybody from unity chime in?
    actually, more importantly, had anybody come up with a workaround?!
     
  5. antenna-tree

    antenna-tree

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,325
    I haven't encountered this problem myself with 4.0, but as a workaround have you tried clearing the lightmaps, saving the scene, and then committing that change before baking the new lightmaps?
     
  6. J.Kang

    J.Kang

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    I have same problem within unity4. It's really bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbig... trouble.
    Please let me know the solution.
     
  7. Pixipulp

    Pixipulp

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    We have got the same problem:

    -create project
    -bake lightmaps
    -commit
    -delete lightmaps
    -commit
    -rebake lightmaps
    -trying to commit -> FAIL: “Commit failed because some of the files being committed are not up to date. Please update all assets first.”

    It’s impossible to work with lightmaps and the asset server like this… :( I didn’t found a solution till now.
     
  8. milkytea

    milkytea

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Same here.
    It's very annoying.
    Did anyone find a workaroud?
     
  9. Kuba

    Kuba

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    373
    Hey guys,

    We're really sorry that so many of you stumbled into this bug. I can confirm that we can reproduce it as well. It's not specific to lightmapping, it happens when a file is deleted and readded at the same path during the same run of the Unity Editor.

    For the time being please use the following steps to workaround the problem:
    1. Generate the lightmap and then commit your changes to the Asset Server. <-- that's where you're at
    2. Clear your lightmaps.
    3. Restart Unity.
    4. Rebake.
    5. Asset Server will first show the deletion of lightmaps. Commit that.
    6. Then the Asset Server will refresh and will show the lightmaps as new. Commit that.
     
    Kos-Dvornik likes this.
  10. frozenpepper

    frozenpepper

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Posts:
    206
    We are having huge issues handling lightmaps and AssetBundles through asset server, solution posted above doesn't always work, and if somebody misses one step once all goes lost and we have to rebake or manually bring the lightmaps to the other computers.
    We are suffering a lot also from asset bundles and this bug....

    With lightmaps the problem is especially marked as it is common to make a few bakes to test illumination, and if by mistake you don't follow the correct "bug workaround " procedure, lightmaps get messed up on everybody else computer except the one on which the lightmaps where baked.

    It has costed us countless hours since we are using very intesively, lightmaps, bundles, custom mesh generation and various other file types we generate via code in editor.
    Please fix this, i actually had given for granted that Unity was well aware of the bug, since if working in a middle size team and use at least lightmaps, it is almost impossible not to encounter it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2013
  11. ScottYann

    ScottYann

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    This bug is still out there. We just found it today 10/4/2013
     
  12. Pix10

    Pix10

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    839
    This bug STILL exists.

    Is there ever going to be an update to Asset Server?

    Also, Cache Server and Lightmaps don't seem to play well -- Update lightmaps on one machine from Asset Server, and it starts to import them, without getting them from the Cache Server. A wild guess is that it's related to the above issue.
     
  13. kalamona

    kalamona

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Posts:
    721
    This bug still seems to exist (version: 4.3). Please fix it, or is that fixed in 4.5?
     
  14. mrexcessive

    mrexcessive

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Posts:
    50
    Asset server seems to be a piece of *%!£ in this area. If you have some version of a project committed and then revert to an earlier branch (something went wrong... that's why we have version control...) then when you try to recommit you will find yourself stymied... Unity / Asset Server combination will want you to apply the 'broken' updates from server to local machine, before committing your changes, so you can either archive all the changed files locally, update from server, then manually copy your archive back over... then commit... (dangerous if more than a couple of files changed... and, really Unity.. this sort of thing should just fork... )

    But a half-decent workaround is to simply create a new project on the server, leave the old one, add an A or B or whatever... break the connection, reconnect to new project and commit. This is 'poor man's forking'... or words which sound similar to that!

    Shame Asset Server is so bad... it very much lets down the otherwise excellent Unity Pro setup, but this works unless you are heavily multi-authoring.


    Hope that helps someone!
     
  15. Pix10

    Pix10

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    839
    There may be light at the end of the tunnel for UAS.

    Would also be nice to see it included in Unity Cloud ... fair enough a lot of people use local UAS installs, but hey we use local SVN installs too. But our Asset Server has been running on EC2 for over 2 years without being shut down, no problem.

    Heck I'd happily pay UT the fees I pay for AWS if they want to do the hosting themselves with the new UAS.

    http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/official-how-can-we-serve-you-better.245901/page-3

    jdrewson writes:
     
  16. v3d

    v3d

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    65
    This bug STILL EXISTS .... in U5.0.0f4 with latest Asset Server.

    We can't "bake-comit/clear/restart/rebake/comit" for each scene come on !
    (mostly with enlighten being quite long to bake....)

    We need to be able to have several 3d artists lightmap their level smoothly !

    Up !
     
    Chilbig likes this.
  17. frozenpepper

    frozenpepper

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Posts:
    206
    Our new lightmapping workflow with asset server is the following (Unity 4.x, not sure about 5) :
    - Bake LIghtmaps
    - Save Scene
    - Commit
    - (Asset server will probably complain and ask you to get old commits of same scene lightmaps, proceed but IGNORE server changes)
    - Commit again
    - In project view "Reimport" the full lightmaps folder
    - Save scene again
    - Commit !


    Hope it helps, it's actually faster than it seems ...
    But, after many years of suffering and complete lack of improvements, we are moving to perforce.
     
  18. Futurerobot

    Futurerobot

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Posts:
    179
    Getting the same bug in Unity 5.1.1
    When I bake lightmaps, I have to update and ignore the server lightmaps before I'm allowed to commit. Would it be possible to show the conflicts as a part of the commit process? Just to make the bump in the road a little smoother. :)
     
    kalamona likes this.
  19. kalamona

    kalamona

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Posts:
    721
    This bug STILL exists. It is incredibly annoying.
     
  20. Jessespike

    Jessespike

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Posts:
    43
    using 5.2.2f1 in June 2016. Bug still exists. Thankfully I ran into this thread, because no where else is this explained.