Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Asset Pipeline Version 2?

Discussion in '2019.2 Beta' started by Hyp-X, May 16, 2019.

  1. Hyp-X

    Hyp-X

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Posts:
    199
    julian-moschuering likes this.
  2. MartinGram

    MartinGram

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    Hello Hyp-X,

    That is correct.

    The first part of the new asset pipeline did land in 2019.2. Working on features as big as the new Asset pipeline often requires multiple releases before the feature is ready to be enabled for everyone. That is exactly the case here, we landed the majority of the foundation work in 2019.2, so that we can continue developing and testing the next phase of the feature and work with smaller change sets leading into 2019.3

    It is not recommended that you enable the new pipeline, as it almost certainly won't work for your project. We did end up keeping the option to enable / disable it, as we have been using that flag to test the new pipeline ourselves and we marked it experimental to indicate its current state.

    If all goes to plan, we will toggle the flag on for 2019.3 and have the new pipeline be the default way to import assets into Unity. There will be more information coming on the new pipeline at Unite Copenhagen this September.

    Best regards
    Martin
    Lead Product Manager, EMEA
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2019
    no00ob, optimise, phobos2077 and 5 others like this.
  3. fherbst

    fherbst

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Posts:
    353
    Googling for "assetpipeline v2 unity" still brings this up as the top result. Is there better documentation now?

    The 2019.3 blogpost states "A new experimental functionality is that you can have multiple revisions stored in the Asset Pipeline which will greatly improve platform switching and swapping between previously imported versions of assets." – is that something I have to enable somehow, or is it "just working"? Switching platforms doesn't seem to be faster than before.
     
    Storm4_ likes this.
  4. otrev

    otrev

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2019
    Posts:
    3

    HELLO,
    i'm at the checing stage of my pipe-line.
    i have preety much procedural materials and geometry.
    all my scene are need to be "reusable" and also specific geometry and materials across many scences...
    all shaders should be float 32bit texture maps - for photorealism. - as i know it's not possible to store "shders results" ("post processing")

    and i wondered what the best data structure for me
    may this pipe-line can help me somewhy?
     
  5. Unity_Javier

    Unity_Javier

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    Hey @fherbst , we just released a blog post which talks about the new Asset Import Pipeline: https://blogs.unity3d.com/2019/10/3...lid-foundation-for-speeding-up-asset-imports/
    In the very near future we also have some more in depth documentation coming out for the Manual, but I hope this helps to answer some of your questions for now.
     
    JimmyCushnie, fherbst and Peter77 like this.
  6. MostHated

    MostHated

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Posts:
    872
    If my project is 2019.2 but says it is still using Asset Pipeline V1, at the current release of 2019.2(11f1), is using Asset Pipeline V2 still something that is only to be done in 2019.3? It would be great if I could use it, but I can't use 2019.3 yet because several of the assets I am using with HDRP are not going to update their asset to 2019.3 until it is out of beta.

    (Side question, is there any rough ETA on when 2019.3 is anticipated to reach full release? Very rough as in, is it possible by the end of this year or probably closer to mid/late 1Q 2020?)
     
  7. Peter77

    Peter77

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    4,195
  8. MostHated

    MostHated

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Posts:
    872
    I definitely see where you are coming from, but technically, I don't think the feature would count as being backported in this instance considering it is actually available and in 2019.2? I started a new project after changing the setting and the new 2019.2 project is using AP V2, so since it would not be a "new feature", shouldn't it be receiving bug fixes and what not and wouldn't that eventually make it stable enough to use?

     
  9. MostHated

    MostHated

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Posts:
    872
    Yeah, nevermind about that, lol. I figured I would give it a test and see how it held up. The answer is "not good". Kept ending up with missing prefabs and invalid target hash / guid issues.